Members of the Future Urban Living

Policy Commission

Commissioners are drawn from the public and private sector as well as wider academic and policy circles to bring together leading experts to deliberate and advise the Commission on its activities. 

Commission Chair

Lord Shipley of Gosforth

Commission Academic Lead

Professor Chris Rogers
Professor of Geotechnical Engineering
Director of the Birmingham Centre for Resilience Research and Education


Phil Blythe Professor of Intelligent Transport Systems, Newcastle University

Peter Braithwaite European Head of Sustainability at CH2M Hill, University of Birmingham Visiting Professor

Chris Brown Igloo Regeneration Development Team

Brian Collins Professor of Engineering Policy, University College London

Susan Juned Greenwatt Sustainable Solutions

Richard Miller Technology Strategy Board

Michael Pawlyn Exploration Architecture

Jon Price Centre for Low Carbon Futures

Corinne Swain  Arup

Paul Toyne London Sustainable Development Commission

Stephen Tindale Centre for European Reform

University of Birmingham Commissioners

Rob Mackenzie Professor of Atmospheric Science School of Geography, Earth and Environmental Sciences

Miles Tight Professor of Transport, Energy and Environment