Athena SWAN

Athena Swan

The School of Chemistry holds an Athena SWAN Bronze Award. We are planning to submit an application to renew the Bronze Award in 2021.

An Athena SWAN charter mark confirms our commitment to addressing gender inequality and our commitment to removing barriers to the progression of women in our discipline.

Our school has seen tremendous positive changes in recent years, but we recognise there us a long way to go to address inequality in science. We are hopeful our efforts will continue to contribute to movement towards gender parity.

A notable success story lies in our Chemistry with Industrial Experience. This programme historically attracted more men than women. Over the last three years the number of women choosing to study with a year in industry has grown to the point women outnumber men on this (traditionally male-dominated) programme.

The Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team

The group is set up to assess data involving gender information, policies and procedures in the School and work towards the recognition of the Athena SWAN Bronze Award.

The Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Committee

The group is set up to deliver actions ensuring equity of opportunity across the School for all its members.

  • Professor John S. Fossey - EDI Lead 
  • Claire Bonnet - College Representative
  • Dr Melanie Britton - Athena SWAN Lead
  • Caitlin O'Connor - Undergraduate Representative
  • Dr Liam Cox - Deputy Head of School
  • Bryan Fryer - Operations Representative
  • Lianne Hill - Facilities Staff Representative
  • Dr Sarah Horswell - Education & disadvantaged groups
  • Alisha Miller - Postgraduate Representative
  • Dr Hamish Yeung - ECR Representative
  • Samuel Ivko - PostDoc Representative
  • Nicky Gillece - Wellbeing Rep and Secretary

How to get involved

Please contact one of the members of the group.

Career Highlights

Francia Allabush