The Hakluyt Society First Series

The Library has purchased the first series of the publications of the Hakluyt Society. These are early accounts of exploration which have been edited and translated. The first series, which ran from 1847-1899, consists of 100 books containing published or previously unpublished works by authors from Christopher Columbus to Sir Francis Drake, and covering voyages to the New World, to China and Japan, to Russia and to Africa and India, over a period from the middle ages to the late eighteenth century. The 100 volume set includes all the books in the first series.

 Label from The Shakespeare Institute Library