Sayka Hussain, Childhood, Culture and Education, 2008

Current role

Community development worker. Currently working on a project called “Daddy Long Legs”, the aim of the project is to promote positive parenting for fathers/male cares of under 5s focusing on raising attainment. Working for Murray Hall Community Trust which is funded by the NHS, at the moment I am seconded to Sure Start Children’s Centre in Rowley Regis

Career experiences

After graduation I started to apply to different posts within the social/education sector that interested me. I attended a few interviews but my lack of experience let me down. However a month after graduating I was offered my current job.

What is the best thing about what you are doing now?

I work with people from different walks of life; my work makes a positive difference, therefore I can see my hard work paying off in front of me.

And the worst thing?

The pay.

What was the best thing about your time as a student here?

I made great friends, learnt some fantastic subjects, overall because of my time at Birmingham I am more confident in approaching new challenges as I have a firm and broad base of academic knowledge.

Would you have done anything differently?

I might have planned more effectively about what I would do after my degree. Maybe even doing voluntary work in areas of interest. As well as using all the extended services available such as academic writing. 

In what way did living and studying in Birmingham live up to your expectations?

The university is regarded as a great institution, and as I live in Birmingham I was aware of its reputation .Overall studying at the university is an advantage as it is well respected amongst employers.

Advice for current students 

The best advice I would give is to get some experience within the social sector. By doing this the complexities of such a role will be more apparent.

Find out more about all our undergraduate programmes in the School of Education.