Our areas

The Department of Modern Languages at the University of Birmingham is organised into seven principal areas, teaching our five principal languages and cultures (French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish), and the further five languages and cultures we offer as minor or additional subjects (Arabic, Catalan, Japanese, Mandarin Chinese, and Portuguese). The Department offers also professional teaching on Translation Studies.

In addition, Arabic can be studied within the MA in Translation Studies at postgraduate level and Arabic language (at beginners level only) is also available as an extracurricular course to undergraduate students across the University.