Navarra Quartet with Alexander Boyd

Barber Concert Hall
Arts and Law
Friday 5th December 2014 (13:10)
Download the date to your calendar (.ics file)
Navarra Quartet

  • Barber Lunchtime Concert

Navarra Quartet
Alexander Boyd piano
Magnus Johnson violin
Simone van der Giessen violin
Marije Johnston viola
Brian O’Kane cello

Piano Quintet in A No. 2, Op. 81

The Navarra Quartet returns to the Barber, this time with University piano tutor and seasoned international performer Alexander Boyd. Dvořák’s second piano quintet, a work lasting forty minutes, was written in 1887 but was not Dvořák’s first attempt at writing in this form. Nearly a decade earlier Dvořák had abandoned the first score but returned later after refining his chamber writing style. The rich and stately result will be performed in this concert by some of the UK’s most gifted chamber musicians.

Venue: Barber Concert Hall

Admission: Free