Symphony Orchestra

Sunday 23rd March 2014 (18:00)
Download the date to your calendar (.ics file)

Tickets may be purchased on the door or by using the booking form (PDF - 1.33MB).

  • University Music Society

Andrew Kirkman conductor
Joshua Rohde cello

  • Simeon Liley
    Edgbaston in the Rain
  • Elgar
    Cello Concerto
  • Vaughan Williams
    Symphony No. 8Programme includes:

The University Symphony Orchestra performs the eighth of Vaughan Williams's nine symphonies, in which the composer shows a new desire for experimentation with tone and colour. This work includes a march-style movement solely for the wind section, followed by a movement for strings, and features a wider variety of percussion instruments than utilised in the previous seven symphonies. Recent graduate Simeon Liley’s new work, Edgbaston in the Rain, was the winning entry for the 2013 UMS Composition Competition, written specifically to feature in a concert with the Vaughan Williams, whilst Joshua Rohde gives a performance of Elgar's Cello Concerto following his success in the UMS Concerto Competition.

Venue: Elgar Concert Hall, Bramall Music Building
Admission: £10, £8 concessions, £3 students (Tickets may be purchased on the door or by using the booking form)