Richard Jenkinson and Alexander Boyd

Concert Hall - Barber Institute
Arts and Law, Performance
Friday 20th October 2017 (13:10)
Download the date to your calendar (.ics file)
Gildas Quartet

  • Barber Lunchtime Concert

Richard Jenkinson cello
Alexander Boyd piano

  • Kodàly
    Sonata, Op. 4
  • Rachmaninov
    Sonata for Cello and Piano in G minor

Richard Jenkinson and Alexander Boyd perform Kodàly's two-movement, folk-inspired sonata for cello and piano - with an interpretation informed by Richard's Doctorate research at the University. This is followed by Rachmaninov's 1901 sonata - a work that the composer insisted be called Sonata for Cello and Piano due to the equal weighting of the parts, with the piano introducing each of the main themes and the cello embellishing and developing the melodies.

Venue: Barber Concert Hall, Barber Institute of Fine Arts

Admission: Free