Symphony Orchestra

Elgar Concert Hall - Bramall Music Building
Arts and Law, Performance
Saturday 25th November 2017 (18:00-19:30)
Download the date to your calendar (.ics file)


  • University Music Society

Daniele Rosina conductor

  • Sibelius
    Karelia Suite, Op. 11
    Pelléas et Mélisande Suite, Op. 46
  • Grieg
    Peer Gynt Suites

The Symphony Orchestra present an early evening concert of Scandinavian music by Jean Sibelius and Edvard Grieg. The concert opens with Karelia Suite, written early on in Sibelius's compositional career, and a work that depicts the south-eastern Karelia region of Finland. The nine movement Pelléas et Mélisande Suite follows, before concluding with Grieg's two orchestra suites, totalling eight movements of originally incidental music commissioned by Henrik Ibsen for his 1867 play, Peer Gynt, in 1875. 

Venue: Elgar Concert Hall, The Bramall

Admission: £10, £8 concessions, £3 students/under 18s, (Available from the Bramall website or by calling +44 (0)121 414 4414)