Terms and Conditions for quarantine support

The University will cover the cost of quarantine for those travelling from red list countries to attend campus for the 2021-22 academic year to anyone arriving from a red list country from Monday 5 July 2021. We are unable to consider costs incurred in the previous academic year.

1. If you are required to quarantine in a UK Government managed quarantine hotel, the University will cover the cost up to a maximum cost of £1,750 for any new or returning self-funding students starting their course in September 2021. 

2. The cost will be covered by a reduction in the tuition fee owed to the University, and the process for this will be confirmed before you start your programme.

3. You will be required to provide proof of hotel quarantine costs so please keep evidence of the managed quarantine hotel booking and receipts of payments. We will publish the process for sending proof to the University at a later date. 

4. This support is available for students domiciled in (and travelling directly from) red-list countries as of 23/07/2021.

5. This policy is based on the red list as of 23/07/2021. It may be subject to change if there are further changes to the UK Government red list, or if alternatives to managed hotel quarantine become available. 

6. If you are not required to stay in a managed quarantine hotel, you will not be eligible for this package.

7. Based on current UK Government guidelines, if you are under 18, you will only be able to stay in a managed quarantine hotel with a parent or guardian. 

8. You will need to follow UK Government guidelines on booking your managed quarantine hotel, and should check the Government website for updates to the red, amber and green lists. 

9. Financial support for quarantine is only for students (new students and those resuming study), and not any family members who may be travelling with them. 

10. Students on incoming exchange programmes from partner universities are exempt from the above and would need to cover the cost of quarantine themselves. 

11. Students must arrive before 1 November 2021 to be eligible. 

Current red list of countries and territories  CHECKED - 27 July 2021, 14:45

This list is based on the Government red list as of 23 July 2021, please check the Government website for the latest updates to the red, amber and green lists. 

  • Afghanistan
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Congo (Democratic Republic)
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mongolia
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Uganda
  • United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe