University structure

Main library and Muirhead TowerThe University of Birmingham is governed by Council and Senate. It is managed by the University Executive Board, chaired by the Vice-Chancellor. 

Academic disciplines are organised into five academic Colleges, each of which is divided into a number of schools. Each College is led by a Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Head of College, who also sits on the University Executive Board. 

The University’s Professional Services, located both centrally in Corporate Services and in the Colleges, work in partnership with academics to support the academic mission of the University. Professional Services are led by the Registrar & Secretary. 

For further information you can view the University's Organisational Chart (PDF - 79Kb).