Nominations Committee

The Nominations Committee receives nominations for Honorary Degrees and the Vice-Chancellor's Medal and makes confidential recommendations to Senate regarding the award of such distinctions.

Read more information about how to make a nomination for an honorary degree.



Term of Office
(to 31 July -
unless otherwise stated)

Vice Chancellor and Principal (Chair)

Professor Sir David Eastwood

Ex officio

Provost and Vice-Principal (Deputy Chair)

Professor Tim Jones

Ex officio

Registrar and Secretary

Mr Lee Sanders

Ex officio

Director of External Relations

Ms Cathy Gilbert

Ex officio

Director of Development and Alumni Relations

Mr Simon Lerwill

Ex officio 

Two Heads of College

Professor David Adams
Professor Myra Nimmo


Four members elected by the Senate

Professor Corey Ross
Professor David Hannah 
Professor Nicola Wilkin
Dr Graham Timmins


One Lay Member of Council

Dr Ed Smith CBE


Two Public Orator

Dr Catherine Needham

Professor Kate Thomas



President of the Guild of Students


* Term of office expires on 30th November 2019.

Ms Ellie Keiller


Terms of Reference

The Committee:

  • considers nominations for Honorary Degrees from students, alumni, employees, honorary staff or lay members of the Court or Council of the University and makes confidential recommendations regarding the award of such distinctions;
  • receives notification of the award of the Vice-Chancellor’s Medal.

Dates of Meetings 

The 2017/18 meeting dates are:

  • 10 October 2017
  • 20 February 2018
  • 15 May 2018

Contact Details

Colette McDonough
Secretary to the Nominations Committee
Registrar & Secretary’s Office
Telephone: +44 (0)121 414 6373