Previous Winners: HEFi Teaching & Learning Awards

Previously known as the HEFi Awards for Education Enhancement & Innovation, discover previous years' winners and categories, and learn more about the work they were recognised for.



For information on the work for which each winner was nominated, see the full programme of 2020 awards.

Educational Leadership Award

Winner - David Leppinen, School of Mathematics
Runner up - Patricia Hibberd, Institute of Clinical Sciences

Outstanding Support for Student Education Award

Winner - Careers in Business Team, Birmingham Business School
Runners up - Advanced Clinical Practice Team, School of Nursing

Teaching Innovation Award

Winner - SWiFT Team, School of Engineering
Runner up - Sophie Cox, School of Chemical Engineering

Inclusive Education Award

Winner - Natasa Mavronicola, Ben Atkins & Ben Warwick, Birmingham Law School
Runners up - Student Experience Team, College of Arts & Law

HEFi Teacher of the Year Award

Winner - Ronnie Meechan-Rogers, Institute of Clinical Sciences


Take a look at photos of the 2019 HEFi Awards Dinner.

Educational Innovation

Winner:  Degree Apprenticeship Public Management Team: Rummi Bassi, Karin Bottom, Stephen Jeffares, Catherine Mangan and Louise Reardon - School of Government, Institute of Local Government Studies and CoSS E-learning, CoSS

For creating UoB’s first Degree Apprenticeship (DA) in Public Management and Leadership, which demonstrates innovation in curriculum design and use of learning technologies, and also strongly supports the delivery of the ambitions set out in Curriculum 2020.

Winner:  Fred O’Loughlin - Professional Services

For his work as Project Officer for the institutional rollout of an e-portfolio tool (PebblePad).

Highly Commended:  Lee Gregory - School of Social Policy, CoSS

For innovative approaches to teaching and assessment in the year two Poverty, Class and Inequality module.

Educational Leadership

Winner: Chris Tselepis - Institute of Clinical Sciences / Institute of Cancer and Genomic Sciences, MDS)

For his work as Director of the undergraduate Biomedical Science programme.

Winner: John Snaith - School of Chemistry, EPS

For his work as Head of Education for Chemistry.

Highly Commended: Mala Patel - Collaborative Teaching Laboratory, EPS

For her leadership in bringing the University's new Collaborative Teaching Laboratory (CTL) on stream and for leading and inspiring the new technician team to deliver an excellent student experience in the new facilities.

Research-intensive learning and teaching

Winner: Art History, Curating and Visual Studies Team - School of Languages, Cultures, Art History and Music, CAL

For their work ensuring that from Year 1 undergraduate to MA level, the curriculum in Art History, Curating and Visual Studies is not just driven by staff research, but also educates students to a very high standard in the processes and practices of research.

Supporting student learning

Winner: Emily Carroll - Birmingham Law School, CAL

For her contribution across a range of learning and teaching activities supporting student learning within Birmingham Law school (BLS)

Winner: Geography Tutorial Team: Lloyd Jenkins, John Round, Paul Richardson, Yueming Zhang, Jim Reali, Joe Berry and Rob Jones - School of Geography, Earth and Environmental Sciences and Professional Services

For their commitment to the improvement of student outcomes through the redesign of the Year 1 Geography Tutorial module.

Highly Commended: EDACS MA Film and Television Team: Richard Langley, Jemma Penny, Nina Jones - School of English, Drama and American and Canadian Studies, CAL

For delivering an enrichment in the educational opportunities for students on the MA in Film and Television programme.


Take a look at the photos of the 2018 HEFi Awards Dinner. A full list of winners across all 4 themes can be seen below. For information on the work for which each winner was nominated, see the full programme of 2018 awards.

Educational Innovation

Winner: Libby Finan – Student Experience Team,  CAL  
WinnerNick Kettridge – School of Geography Earth and Environmental Sciences,  LES   
Winner: Fay Julal – School of Psychology,  LES
Winner: Ian Jefferson,  Edward Tarte, Michael Burrow, Aziza Mahomed – School of Engineering,  EPS   
Highly commended: Andreas Freise – School of Physics and Astronomy,  EPS   

Educational Leadership

Winner: Elaine Fulton – School of History and Cultures,  CAL 
Winner: Natalie Rowley – School of Chemistry,  EPS  
Winner: Celia Greenway – School of Education,  CoSS 
Highly commended: Tzany Kokalova-Wheldon – School of Physics and Astronomy,  EPS 
Highly commended: Holly Foss – School of LCAHM, CAL  

Research-intensive learning and teaching

Winner: Amelia Swift – School of Nursing,  MDS  
Winner: Dominique Moran – School of Geography Earth and Environmental Sciences,  LES  
Highly commended: Anke Buttner – School of Psychology,  LES  
Highly commended: Roisin Madigan and Mary Blanchard - School of Biosciences, LES

Supporting student learning

Winner: Clare Ray – Institute of Clinical Sciences, MDS 
Winner: Gemma Tandy – Careers Network, AS 
Highly commended: CAL Welfare Team: Adrian Powney, Iain Cormack, Sonia Suman, Libby Proctor, Kate Hands-Harvey, Dee Partridge, Jo Elkington, Penny Hewlett - Various Schools,  CAL