French

Birmingham French Studies is renowned for its concentration of expertise in the modern and contemporary period, with a focus on the study of politics, theory, and culture.

Particular research strength is found in the following areas: Postcolonial French and Francophone Studies (Dr Alessandro Corio, Dr Louise Hardwick, Dr Berny Sèbe), Sexuality and Gender Studies (Professor Lisa Downing, Dr Kate Ince, Dr Louise Hardwick), Film Studies and Adaptation Studies (Dr Russell Cousins, Professor Lisa Downing, Dr Kate Ince, Dr Stephen Forcer, Dr Andrew Watts, Emeritus Professor Dennis Wood), Text and Image (Dr Emma Wagstaff, Dr Andrew Watts), War and Memory Studies (Dr Berny Sèbe, Dr Béatrice Damamme-Gilbert, Dr Angela Kershaw), and Political/ Cultural History (Emeritus Professor Jennifer Birkett, Professor Martin Cornick, Dr Ursula Haskins Gonthier).

Academic staff

Professor Emeritus Jennifer Birkett

Emeritus Professor of French Studies

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5965

Email j.birkett@bham.ac.uk

Dr Leslie Brook

Honorary Senior Research Fellow

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6001

Email l.c.brook@bham.ac.uk

Professor Martyn Cornick

Professor Martyn Cornick

Professor of French Cultural History

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5965

Email m.cornick@bham.ac.uk

Dr Russell Cousins

Honorary Senior Lecturer

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5971

Email r.f.w.cousins@bham.ac.uk

Dr Béatrice Damamme-Gilbert

Dr Béatrice Damamme-Gilbert

Senior Lecturer in French Studies

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5969

Email b.l.y.damamme-gilbert@bham.ac.uk

Professor Lisa Downing

Professor Lisa Downing

Professor of French Discourses of Sexuality

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5981

Email l.m.downing@bham.ac.uk

Dr Stephen Forcer

Dr Stephen Forcer

Senior Lecturer in French Studies

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5985

Email s.m.forcer@bham.ac.uk

Dr Louise Hardwick

Dr Louise Hardwick

Lecturer in French Studies

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Dr Kate Ince

Dr Kate Ince

Reader in French Film and Gender Studies

Department of Art History, Film and Visual Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5972

Email k.l.ince@bham.ac.uk

Dr Angela Kershaw

Dr Angela Kershaw

Senior Lecturer in French Studies

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5974

Email a.kershaw@bham.ac.uk

Dr Wendy Perkins

Honorary Senior Lecturer in French Studies

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5965

Email a.w.perkins@bham.ac.uk

Professor Peter Ricketts

Honorary Professor

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6001

Email p.ricketts@bham.ac.uk

Dr Berny Sèbe

Dr Berny Sèbe

Lecturer in colonial and post-colonial studies

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6173

Email b.c.sebe@bham.ac.uk

Dr Emma Wagstaff

Dr Emma Wagstaff

Lecturer in French Studies

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5973

Email e.r.wagstaff@bham.ac.uk

Professor Dennis Wood

Emeritus Professor of French Literature and Chevalier dans l'Ordre des Palmes Académiques

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44(0)121 414 5984

Email d.m.wood@bham.ac.uk