Medieval - Early Modern

A strong and innovative feature of research into the medieval and early modern periods is our commitment to editing and studying important but little-known texts previously accessible only in manuscript form. This approach informs much of the work, for example, of Aengus Ward on Hispanic historiography, and of Nigel Harris on pre- and post-Reformation moral theology. Our research culture also embraces a thoroughgoing interdisciplinarity, as is evinced not least by Paolo di Ventura’s studies of Dante in a broader medieval context, and by Ita McCarthy’s incorporation of both literature and pictorial art into her work on key Renaissance concepts, such as ‘grace’.

Academic staff

Dr Leslie Brook

Honorary Senior Research Fellow

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6001

Email l.c.brook@bham.ac.uk

Dr Paolo De Ventura

Dr Paolo De Ventura

Lecturer

Department of Modern Languages: Italian Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5935

Email p.deventura@bham.ac.uk

Dr Nick Griffiths

Dr Nick Griffiths

Senior Lecturer in Hispanic Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone During Semester 1 +44 (0)121 414 3253/Outside Semester 1 44 (0)121 414 6035

Email n.e.g.griffiths@bham.ac.uk

Dr Nigel Harris

Dr Nigel Harris

Reader in German

Department of Modern Languages: German Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6183

Email n.w.harris@bham.ac.uk

Dr Ita Mac Carthy

Dr Ita Mac Carthy

Senior Lecturer in Italian Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Italian Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5933

Email i.maccarthy@bham.ac.uk

Dr Robert Oakley

Honorary Research Fellow in Hispanic Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 453 3345

Email r.j.oakley@bham.ac.uk

Professor Peter Ricketts

Honorary Professor

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6001

Email p.ricketts@bham.ac.uk

Dr Aengus Ward

Dr Aengus Ward

Senior Lecturer in Hispanic Studies

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7237

Email a.m.m.ward@bham.ac.uk

Dr Jules Whicker

Dr Jules Whicker

Lecturer

Department of Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6033

Email j.whicker@bham.ac.uk

Professor Dennis Wood

Emeritus Professor of French Literature and Chevalier dans l'Ordre des Palmes Académiques

Department of Modern Languages: French Studies

Telephone +44(0)121 414 5984

Email d.m.wood@bham.ac.uk