Coronavirus update

Important information:
All on-campus visits and events are cancelled or postponed until further notice. Virtual events will be running as normal unless otherwise stated.  For the latest updates visit our coronavirus information page. Please note that some of our on campus events may be replaced by virtual events - please check with the event organiser listed against each event.

US Election - Biden's first 100 days

Location
Online via Zoom
Dates
Thursday 14 January 2021 (18:00-19:15)

18:00 – 19:00 GMT | 13:00 - 14:00 EST | 12:00 - 13:00 CST | 10:00 - 11:00 PST

The 2020 US election was an election like no other. Amidst a deadly pandemic, economic recession and a racial reckoning, Americans voted in record numbers with Joe Biden declared as 46th President of the United States. Now that US congress has formally approves Biden's victory, thoughts turn towards the Presidential Inauguration taking place later this month and what happens next.

Professor Scott Lucas returns for an insightful discussion on what a Biden presidency might look like and the challenges he will face during his first 100 days in office. Scott will share what we know about Biden’s plans to tackle the pandemic and economic fallout, racial equity, the environment, immigration, and foreign policy. 

Scott will also reflect on the events of the past few days and discuss the impact Trump will continue to have outside of the White House.

Scott will take questions during the event but if you would like to submit a question in advance please email us at alumnievents@contacts.bham.ac.uk

'Bringing Birmingham to You' is an event series from the Alumni Office, which gives you, our global alumni community, access to some of our brilliant Birmingham academics who are leading the way in science, and in the arts and humanities. They will be sharing their latest research and commentary on some of the world's most pressing issues.

Culture and collections

Schools, institutes and departments

Services and facilities