School of Engineering Professional Services

The School of Engineering employs over 50 Professional Services staff delivering a range of support services to students and academic staff. Their specialist expertise assist in delivering the School’s wide range of activities - from School Operations to technical support for teaching and research, and support throughout the student journey from admissions to graduation. Details of the Professional Services teams in the School are given below.  

Operations

Operations Manager Mark Jeffery Email: m.c.jeffery@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44138
Senior Operations Administrator Lily Saunders Email: l.saunders@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 43720
Head of School’s PA Emma Turner Email: e.l.turner@bham.ac.uk 
Extension: 45137
Operations Administrator Ellie Hartley Email: h.f.hartley@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 45075
Gisbert Kapp Receptionist Mandy Dunn Email: m.j.dunn@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 45630

Teaching Support

Teaching Support Manager Email: d.santoro@bham.ac.uk 
Extension: 44220
David Santoro



UG Team

Team email: engineeringsupport-ug@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Extension: 45049/44157/45056

UG Team Leader: Kiran Kooner
UG Support Administrator: Aakeefa Zahoor
Exams/Timetabling: Stacey Da Cruz Carvalho

PGT Team


Team email: engineeringsupport-msc@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44191/44319/45136

PGT Team Leader: Vanessa Parmar
PGT Support Administrator: Sam McCauley
PGT Support Administrator: Sarah Williams

PGT Support Administrator (Rail): Vacant
PGR Team
Team email: engineeringsupport-research@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44233/44160

Senior PGR Support Administrator: Helena Neville
PGR Support Administrator: Lydia Holtom

Admissions Team
Team email: pg-admissions-eng@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Team email: ug-admissions-eng@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Extension: 45043/44230/45089

Admissions Officer: Becca Rice
Senior UG Admissions Administrator: Sharon Green
Senior PGT Admissions Administrator: Alastair Moyes

Student Experience Team
Email: r.withers@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44347

Student Experience Officer: Becky Withers

Email: j.steere@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 45061

Industrial Liaison Officer: Jenny Steere
Email: engineeringwelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Extension: 45083/44267

Student Wellbeing Officer: Jack Carter

Technical Support

Civil Engineering 
Technical Manager Mark Carter (acting) Email: m.carter@bham.ac.uk 
Extension: 45094
Technical Staff David Allsopp Email: d.m.allsopp@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 45093
Mike Vanderstam Email: m.vanderstam@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 45044
David Cope Email: d.c.cope@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 45096
James Guest Email: j.j.guest@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 45151

Electronic, Electrical and Systems Engineering
Technical Manager Andy Dunn Email: a.p.dunn@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44353
Technical Staff Robert Davies Email: r.k.davies@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 43964
Adam Paruch Email: a.paruch@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 43966
John Rhys Davies Email: j.r.davies@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 58726
Alan Yates Email: a.c.yates@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 42206
Adnan Zentani Email: a.m.zentani@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44305
Allen Forbes Email: A.Forbes.1@bham.ac.uk

Mechanical Engineering
Technical Manager Donna Johnson Email: d.m.johnson@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44218
Technical Staff Vacant
School Health & Safety Administrator
Email:
Extension: 44256
Kevan Charlesworth Email: k.charlesworth@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44210
Jack Garrod Email: j.h.garrod@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44218
Lee Gauntlet Email: l.p.gauntlet@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44218
Pooria Ghavam Email: p.ghavam@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44237
Simon Payne-Rowan Email: s.m.payne-rowan@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44222

Harold Fox
Workshop Training Technician

Email: h.fox.1@bham.ac.uk
Extension:
Brian Thomas
Stores
Email: b.v.thomas@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 42276
Peter Thornton
Buildings Manager
Email: p.l.thornton@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44207
Location: G63
Mark Wager

Email: M.J.Wager@bham.ac.uk
Extension: 44218

Birmingham Centre for Railway Research and Education support

The Centre delivers world class research and thought leadership within railways, and offer an expanding portfolio of high-quality education programmes. The Centre is supported by an Academic and Management Team.