Philharmonic Orchestra

Elgar Concert Hall - Bramall Music Building
Arts and Law, Performance
Sunday 4th December 2016 (15:00)
Download the date to your calendar (.ics file)

  • University Music Society

Daniele Rosina conductor
Lauren Zhang piano

  • Dvořák
  • The Noonday Witch, Op. 108
  • Shostakovich
  • Piano Concerto No. 2 in F, Op. 102
  • Dvořák
  • Symphony No. 8, Op. 88

The Music Society’s Philharmonic Orchestra welcomes the exceptionally talented young pianist Lauren Zhang for a performance of Shostakovich’s second piano concerto, a work written in 1957 for the composer’s son on his 17th birthday. Lauren is currently a student at King Edward’s VI High School of Girls and studies at the Junior School of Birmingham Conservatoire.

Dvořák’s symphonic tone poem The Noonday Witch opens the concert and takes its inspiration from the Karel Jaromir Erben’s 1853 poem Polednice - based on a Slavic mythological demon. The Czech theme is continued as the orchestra perform Dvořák’s Eighth Symphony - a work described by The Guardian’s Tom Service as ‘… 35 minutes (or so) of life-enhancing joy’.

Venue: Elgar Concert Hall, Bramall Music Building

Tickets: £10, £8 concessions, £3 students (Available via the Bramall website or on the door)