University Symphony Orchestra

Elgar Concert Hall, The Bramall Music Building
Arts and Law, Performance
Sunday 17th March 2019 (15:00-17:00)
Download the date to your calendar (.ics file)
  • University Music Society

Daniele Rosina conductor
Sabrina Ko, Olivia Tait student conductors
Joshua Rapley cello

The Music Society’s Symphony Orchestra perform a programme of music by French composers, including ballet music by Dukas, and the Hungarian March from Berlioz’s epic retelling of the Faust story that captures the extremes of man’s ambition and folly. The Orchestra are joined by joint honours Languages and Music student, Joshua Rapley, for Saint
Saëns 1872 Cello Concerto, with Joshua having won the Music Society Soloist Competition in the Autumn.

  • Saint-Saëns
    Cello Concert No. 1 in A minor, Op. 33
  • Saint-Saëns
    Danse Macabre
  • Dukas
    Fanfare to La Péri
  • Berlioz
    Hungarian March from The Damnation of Faust
  • Fauré
    Pavane, Op. 50

Venue: Elgar Concert Hall, The Bramall

Admission: £10, £8 concessions, £3 students/U18 (Available from the Bramall website or by calling +44 (0) 121 414 4414)