Professor Aba Ayisa Bentil Andam, FGA, FInstP, FGhInstP

MSc Applied Radiation Physics, 1977

Professor Aba Andam is a Fellow of the UK Institute of Physics, the Ghana Institute of Physics, and the Ghana Academy of Arts and Sciences, of which she is a past President.

Educated at Mfantsiman Girls’ Senior High school, Aburi Girls’ Senior High School, and the University of Cape Coast, all in Ghana, she pursued graduate studies at the University of Birmingham and graduated with a Ph.D. in Cosmic Radiation Physics from the University of Durham in the UK.

Prof Andam is the first recipient of the prestigious UNESCO Chair for Women in Science in Africa (West Africa Region). She has held research and teaching appointments at universities and research institutions in UK, Italy, Germany, and Ghana. Prof Andam was President of the Ghana Academy of Arts and Sciences from 2017-2018; prior to that she was Vice President from 2013-2016, Council Member, and is member of various committees of the Ghana Academy of Arts and Sciences from 2008 to date.

aba ayisa bentil adnam

Prof. Aba Andam has served as a member of the National Council for Tertiary Education and received awards from Obaa Mbo, a TV Programme, The Women of Excellence Award of the Ministry of Gender, the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), and the Chartered Institute of Supply Chain Management of Ghana.

She has served as President of Ghana Institute of Physics since September 2019; Member, as a member of the Commission on Physics and Development (C13) of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP), 2018 to date, and member of the Committee on the proposed African Light Source from 2020 to date.  She is Foundation Chairman, Council of University of Energy and Natural Resources, Ghana, (2012-2015); Foundation Chairman, Council of Koforidua Polytechnic, Ghana, (1997 – 2002); Member, Governing Board of Ghana Atomic Energy Commission, (1997-2001, then 2002 -2008); Foundation Member of the First IUPAP Working Group on Women in Physics and Leader of the Ghana Team of the IUPAP Conferences on Women in Physics to date.

We Are (Third Width)