Contact us

Photo of hands at a compuoter keyboard.

Postal address

Research and Knowledge Transfer Office
Medical School
University of Birmingham
Edgbaston
B15 2TT

E: rktoffice@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @UOB_MDSRKTO

Office roles and contact details

Acting Head of Research and Knowledge Transfer: Dr Eliot Marston
E: e.d.marston@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 3115

Director of Research and Knowledge Transfer: Prof Jon Frampton
E: j.frampton@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 6812

Research and Knowledge Transfer Executive Assistant: Ms Geraldine Dora
E: g.dora@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 7612

R&KT Office Secretary: Ms Yvonne Dawson
E: y.dawson@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 4054

Research Development Team

The Research Development Team provides strategic input, support for research funding applications, approvals, implementation and management processes, and includes a growing team of specialised administrative/research management staff.

School of Cancer Sciences

Senior Research Facilitator: Dr Rachel Bruton
E: r.k.bruton@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 8504

School of Clinical and Experimental Medicine

Senior Research Facilitator: Dr Victoria Cabrera-Sharp
E: v.cabrera-sharp@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 9020

School of Dentistry

Research Administrator: Dr Parini Mankad
E: MankadP@adf.bham.ac.uk T: 0121 466 5548

School of Health and Population Sciences

Senior Research Facilitator: Mr Craig Maskell
E: c.i.maskell@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 6976

School of Immunity and Infection

Senior Research Facilitator: Mrs Jackie Hawkins
E: j.o.hawkins@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 3094

College Research Officer: Dr Catherine Moore
E: c.a.moore.2@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 7756

Research Support Administrator: Mr Alex Beeson
E: a.beeson@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 9299

Research Support Administrator:  Ms Suzie Hayman
E: s.hayman@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 9094

Clinical Research Compliance Team

The clinical research compliance team is responsible for developing an infrastructure for researchers involved in clinical trials. The team also takes on responsibilities relating to sponsor oversight such as audits and quality checks.

Clinical Trials Quality Assurance Manager: Mrs Wilma Van Riel
E: w.c.vanriel@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 9050

Director of the Advanced Therapies Facility (ATF):  Dr Jane Steele
E: j.c.steele@bham.ac.uk

Experimental Officer in Sample Management: Dr Souad Messahel
E: s.messahel.1@bham.ac.uk  T: 0121 414 9218

Governance Support Officer: Mrs Leigh Challinor
E: l.challinor@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 415 8776

Postgraduate and Postdoctoral Training and Development(PERCAT)

The postgraduate, training and development team incorporates the College’s Graduate School and has the primary responsibility for the management and development of postgraduate research and taught programmes across the College. The team also provides dedicated support to the Head of Clinical Academic Training and works with the Head of Postdoctoral Training and Career Development.

Head of Graduate School: Prof Steve Watson
E: s.p.watson@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 4034

Deputy Head of Graduate School: Dr Graham Wallace
E: g.r.wallace@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 3255

Head of Clinical Academic Training: Prof Lorraine Harper
E: l.harper@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 7042

Head of Postdoctoral/Early Researcher, Career Development and Training (PERCAT): Prof Roy Bicknell
E: r.bicknell@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 6824

Operations Manager (Postgraduate Programmes): Mrs Karen Carter
E: k.s.carter@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 8203

Clinical Academic Training Manager: Mrs Charlotte Maybury
E: c.maybury@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 8504

Postdoctoral/Early Researcher, Career Development and Training (PERCAT) Administrator: Ms Lesley Bodenham
E: l.h.bodenham@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 2967

Postgraduate Administrative Assistant R&KT: Ms Niki Windridge
E: n.j.windridge@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 4061

Business Engagement and Technology Transfer Team

The Technology Transfer Team promotes translational aspects of research across the College, and provides support to all Schools in developing and exploiting the commercial potential of research.

Strategic Project Manager: Dr Sarah Knaggs
E: s.knaggs@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 8262

Business Engagement Partner (MDS): Mrs Anne Simper
E: a.simper@bham.ac.uk T: 0771 744 1014

Science City Business Partnership Manager: Dr Rubina Mian
E: r.mian@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 6976

Technology Transfer Officer: Mrs Claire Fenlon
E: c.m.fenlon@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 6804

Strategic Project Officer: Mrs Linda Briscoe
E: l.a.briscoe@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 9087

Partnership Management and International Engagement Team

The Partnership Management Team provides a wide variety of support for strategic research projects and programmes within the College, including those that involve national and international partners. 

Strategic Project Manager: Dr Sarah Knaggs
E: s.knaggs@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 48262

International Project Officer: Dr Junying Jia
E: j.jia@bham.ac.uk   T: 0121 414 49097

Centre Facilitator: Ms Alison Fletcher
E: a.fletcher.1@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 415 8010 

EuroTEAM Project Manager: Mrs Rebecca Birch
E: r.birch@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 9259

Strategic Project Officer: Mrs Linda Briscoe
E: l.a.briscoe@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 9087

 

research-handbook-cover-linkfollow-graphic            Blog-Button