Our people

Director of the Education Leadership Academy 

Colin Diamond

Our experts

Dr Karl Kitching

Reader in Education Policy


Dr Madeleine Findon

Lecturer in Educational Leadership
School of Education

+44 (0)121 414 3344
Dr Madeleine Findon

Simon Asquith

Senior Lecturer and Director of Postgraduate Taught Programmes
School of Education

+44 (0)121 414 7607
Simon Asquith

Professor Julie Allan

Professor of Equity and Inclusion
School of Education

+44 (0)121 414 4853
Professor Julie Allan

Our guest lecturers

Herminder Channa JP

Principal of Ark Boulton Academy. Herminder is proud to be serving the community as a magistrate, lead Ofsted Inspector and to support women’s leadership in Education through her work with the NCSL. In 2018, Herminder was appointed as Central Birmingham Collegiate Headteachers Board Chair.

Herminder Channa

Sajid Gulzar OBE

CEO, Prince Albert Community Trust. Sajid was awarded the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in the Queen’s Birthday honours list 2019 for services to education.

Sajid Gulzar

Dr Bev Mabey

CEO, Washwood Heath Multi Academy Trust. 

Bev Mabey

Kathryn Morgan

Kathryn is an experienced senior leader having lead as a Deputy Head teacher and as a senior leader across a MAT. The majority of her career has been spent teaching in disadvantaged communities within north Solihull and across Birmingham, working hard to raise aspirations and standards for disadvantaged children. Kathryn is currently the Director of CPD and Research Based Learning at the Prince Albert Community Trust in Birmingham. She strategically leads on the development of staff across the MAT, which includes both teaching and non-teaching staff, managing budgets and leading on the use of research to inform practice. 

Kathryn Morgan

Our Seminar Leaders

Ava Sturridge-Packer CBE

Former Headteacher of St Mary’s CofE Primary School in Birmingham and currently DfE and Birmingham Education Partnership adviser. In 2000 Ava was made a CBE for services to education. 

Sir David Carter

Sir David Carter was CEO at the Cabot MAT in Bristol before becoming the first Regional Schools Commissioner for the South West of England. He then became National Schools Commissioner and, as an authentic education leader, was a strong influence on government policy.  

Steve Munby CBE

Steve Munby has spent his whole career in education, first as a teacher and then as an adviser before moving into leadership roles. Between 2005 and 2017 he was Chief Executive first of the National College for School Leadership in England and then of the Education Development Trust, an international education charity. He is now a self-employed consultant and speaker on leadership and on system reform. Steve is also a visiting professor at University College London Institute for Education and is the facilitator for the Atlantic Rim Collaboratory (ARC) summits, which bring together education systems from across the world. He was awarded a CBE in the New Year honours list in 2010. His book Imperfect Leadership: A Book for Leaders who Know They Don’t Know it All was published in 2019  to critical acclaim. 

Dr Kulvarn Atwal

Dr Kulvarn Atwal FCCT has spent his entire career teaching and leading in East London schools and is currently Head Teacher at Highlands Primary School. Highlands was recently awarded the Mayor of London's Schools for Success award for the third year in a row; one of only 30 primary or secondary schools in London to achieve this award. He is also currently Interim Head Teacher of Uphall Primary School, which is one of the largest primary schools in the country. 

Kulvarn specialises in teacher professional learning. He has recently been awarded Fellowship Status at the Chartered College of Education and has published his first book, 'The Thinking School. Developing a Dynamic Learning Community'. He occasionally tweets @thinkingschool2

Ela McSorley

Ela McSorley FCCT has worked in education in and around Birmingham for the last twenty-three years, eighteen of which within senior leadership teams. She has worked across a variety of different schools, including some time in international education, within a small multi-faith Trust as a Director of Learning and Teaching and a variety of schools across the midlands as deputy headteacher and now Principal of a large all-through school, in Small Heath, Birmingham. She has also worked as a curriculum advisor at QCDA and an English subject lead for ITT at the King Edward’s Consortium. 

Ela is a founding fellow of the Chartered College of Teachers. She has worked as a leader in a pathfinder school on the Ethical Leadership programme and has been a member of the advisory group, developing the Chartered Teacher Programme and support for the early career teachers. 

Advisers and guest speakers

Andy Argyle
Senior Partner KPMG

Dr Kulvarn Atwal
Highlands Primary School

Tim Boyes
Chief Executive Officer, Birmingham Education Partnership

Mr Sajid Gulzar OBE
Chief Executive Officer
Prince Albert Community Trust

Ms Emma Knights
Chief Executive Officer
National Governance Association (NGA)

Ms Priya Lakani OBE
Founder & Chief Executive Officer
Century Tech

Dr Bev Mabey
Chief Executive Officer
Washwood Heath Multi Academy Trust

Heath Monk
CEO The King Edwards Foundation

Kathryn Morgan
Director of CPD and Research Based Learning, Prince Albert Community Trust

Mrs Ava Sturridge Packer CBE
National Leader of Education & former Headteacher
St Mary’s CofE Primary School Handsworth

Dame Rachel de Souza
Chief Executive Officer
Inspiration Trust

Sir Mike Tomlinson
Former HMCI and DfE Commissioner for Birmingham

Mr Colin Townsend
University of Birmingham School

Mr Les Walton CBE
Association of Education Advisers