Notable alumni

Busts down the one of the corridors in Birmingham Medical School

We are our proud to acknowledge the outstanding individuals who have gone on to be leaders in their respective fields and exceedingly contributed to the improvement of global health care.

Sir Guy Dain (MB Medicine, 1894) - Chairman, British Medical Association.

Sir Leonard Gregory Parsons (MD Medicine, 1903) - First to use synthetic Vitamin C to treat scurvy in Children; awarded Royal College of Physicians’ Moxon Medal.

Sir Arthur Peregrine Thomson (MBChB, 1915) - Awarded Harveian Oration; Dean, Medical Faculty, the University of Birmingham; Vice-principal, The University of Birmingham.

Dame Hilda Lloyd (MBChB, 1916) - First women Professor, University of Birmingham; first woman President, Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists; founding member, Women’s Visiting Gynaecological Club.

Leon David Abrams (MBChB, 1941) - Developed and implanted the first variable heart pacemaker at the university alongside Ray Lightwood.

Sir Charles George (MBChB, 1965) - Chairman, Stroke Association; Chairman, General Medical Council’s Education Committee, Chair, BMA’s Board of Science & Education.

Keith Harding (MBChB, 1976) - Director, TIME Institute (Translation, Innovation, Methodology and Engagement); Clinical Lead for Wound Healing, Cardiff & Vale NHS Trust; Editor-in-Chief, International Wound Journal; President, European Tissue Repair Society; Commander of Order of the British Empire.

Jane Collins (MBChB, 1978; MD 1988) - Chief Executive, Marie Curie Cancer Care.

Richard Horton (MBChB, 1986; BSc, 1983; MD, 2008) - Editor, the Lancet; Columnist, The Observer; writer, The Times Literary Supplement; writer, The New York Review of Books; co-Chaired, WHO Scientific Advisory Group on Clinical Trials Registration,

Rowan Hillson (MBChB, 1974) - National Clinical Director for Diabetes, Department for Health.

Steve Field (MBChB, 1982) - President, Royal College of General Practitioners; Lead, NHS Future Forum; Deputy Medical Director, NHS England.

Peter Weissberg (MBChB, 1976) - Medical Director, British Heart Foundation; Commander of the Order of the British Empire.

Sir David Haslam (MBChB, 1972) - President, British Medical Association; Chair, National Institute for Health and Care Excellence; Chair, Royal College of General Practitioners; Vice-Chair, Academy of Medical Royal Colleges.