Sexuality and Gender Studies PhD/MA by Research (On-Campus or by Distance Learning)

Image for Sexuality and Gender Studies PhD/MA by Research (On-Campus or by Distance Learning)

Supervision from leading international scholars of interdisciplinary Sexualty and Gender Studies.

Postgraduate research in Sexuality and Gender Studies is a truly interdisciplinary collaboration, led by academics from a range of disciplines, each bringing their specific expertise to bear. Research can focus on topics including: feminist theory, masculinity studies, queer theory, postcolonial theory, psychoanalysis,ethnography, sexology, and criminology. 

Course fact file

Type of Course: Doctoral research

Study Options: Distance learning, full time, part time

Duration: PhD - 3 years full-time, 6 years part-time; MA by Research - 1 year full-time, 2 years part-time

Start date: September 2013

Contact

Research degrees are best planned by individual discussion, so if you have a particular subject area in mind, please contact the staff member you deem to be most suitable for advice on formulating research proposals. See ‘Research areas’ for more information on individual staff research interests.

Professor of French Discourses of Sexuality and Programme Convenor, Professor Lisa Downing 

Details

The MA by Research programme requires you to prepare a dissertation of up to 40,000 words on a topic of your choice, for which an academic staff member will provide expert supervision.

The PhD – the most advanced research degree – leads to a dissertation of up to 80,000 words on a subject of your choice and under the expert supervision of an academic member of staff.

You can study for a PhD on campus or by Distance Learning.

Postgraduate research is pursued in its broadest social and intellectual context, and you develop your research project within an active and friendly postgraduate community. Postgraduates are offered opportunities to present work-in-progress at Departmental Research Seminars and at the School Postgraduate Forum. As appropriate, staff and supervisors will also guide postgraduate students in important areas beyond the thesis itself, such as the preparation of external conference papers and research publications. Since we are particularly interested in interdisciplinary and cross-disciplinary work, it is possible to arrange joint supervision involving staff from other Departments,thereby giving you access to a broader knowledge base and maximising the quality and originality of your work.

Fees and funding

We charge an annual tuition fee. Fees for 2014/15 are currently as follows:

  • Home / EU £3,996 full-time; £1,998 part-time
  • Overseas: £12,565 full-time; £6,282.50 part-time

Learn more about fees and funding.

Scholarships and studentships

Scholarships to cover fees and/or maintenance costs may be available. To be eligible for these awards, candidates must hold either an offer of a place to study or have submitted an application to study at the University. To discover whether you are eligible for any award across the University, and to start your funding application, please visit the University's Postgraduate Funding Database.

International students can often gain funding through overseas research scholarships, Commonwealth scholarships or their home government.

Entry requirements

This programme welcomes applicants from a range of disciplinary and interdisciplinary perspectives, but a good Honours degree is normally a requirement.

Learn more about entry requirements

International students

Academic requirements

We accept a range of qualifications; our country pages show you what qualifications we accept from your country.

English language requirements

You can satisfy our English language requirements in two ways:

How to apply

Please consult our list of staff research interests in Sexuality and Gender Studies, and make contact with a supervisor with whom you would like to work. They will be delighted to hear from you, and will advise you on the next steps, in terms of putting together a research proposal, potentially applying for funding, and which department to apply for. 

Any initial academic enquiries should be directed to Lisa Downing, Professor of French Discourses of Sexuality and convenor of this programme: l.m.downing@bham.ac.uk

Contact

Research degrees are best planned by individual discussion, so if you have a particular subject area in mind, please contact the staff member you deem to be most suitable for advice on formulating research proposals. See ‘Research areas’ for more information on individual staff research interests.

Professor of French Discourses of Sexuality and Programme Convenor, Professor Lisa Downing 

Research interests of staff

Convenor of Sexuality and Gender Studies:

  • Professor Lisa Downing
    Professor of French Discourses of Sexuality
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 5981
    Email: l.m.downing@bham.ac.uk

Academic staff with interests in sexuality and gender studies:

  • Dr Michele Aaron
    Senior Lecturer in American and Canadian Studies
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 5750
    Email: m.aaron@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Francesca Berry
    Lecturer in Art History, Film and Visual Studies
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 3930
    Email: f.berry@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Amy Brosius
    Lecturer of Musicology
    Email: a.brosius@bham.ac.uk
  • Professor Leslie Brubaker
    Professor of Byzantine Art
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 2944
    Email: l.brubaker@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Shelley Budgeon
    Senior Lecturer in Political Science and International Studies
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 415 8621
    Email: s.budgeon@bham.ac.uk
  • Emma Foster
    Lecturer in International Politics and Gender
    Email: e.a.foster@bham.ac.uk
  • Professor Marie Fox
    Professor of Socio-Legal Studies
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 6323
    Email: m.fox@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Shelley Godsland
    Senior Lecturer in Hispanic Studies
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 6041
    Email: s.godsland@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Elystan Griffiths
    Senior Lecturer in German
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 6178
    Email: e.griffiths@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Deryn Guest
    Senior Lecturer in Biblical Hermeneutics
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 3914
    Email: d.p.guest@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Rosie Harding
    Senior Lecturer, Birmingham Law School
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 4960
    Email: r.j.harding@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Louise Hardwick
    Lecturer in French Studies
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 5964
    Email: l.a.hardwick@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Matt Houlbrook
    Senior Lecturer in Modern British History
    Email: m.houlbrook@bham.ac.uk 
  • Dr Kate Ince
    Reader in French Film and Gender Studies
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 5972
    Email: k.l.ince@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Monica Jato
    Senior Lecturer in Hispanic Studies
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 4088
    Email: m.jato@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Imogen Jones
    Lecturer, Birmingham Law School
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 9038
    Email: i.jones@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Helen Laville
    Senior Lecturer in American Studies
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 5737
    Email: h.laville@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Iain Law
    Senior Lecturer in Philosophy
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 8336
    Email: i.law@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Elizabeth L'Estrange
    Lecturer in History of Art
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 8042
    Email: e.a.lestrange@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Deborah Longworth
    Senior Lecturer, Department of English
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 7248
    Email: d.l.longworth@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Miriam Muller
    Lecturer in Medieval History
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 5741
    Email: m.muller@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Charlotte Ross
    Senior Lecturer in Italian Studies
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 7505
    Email: c.e.ross@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Joanne Sayer
    Senior Lecturer in Cultural Theory and German Studies
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 6177
    Email: j.sayer@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Kathryn Simpson
    Senior Lecturer in English
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 415 8219
    Email: k.l.simpson@bham.ac.uk
  • Professor Christine Skelton
    Professor of Gender Equality in Education
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 3474
    Email: c.skelton@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Camilla Smith
    Lecturer in Art History, Film and Visual Studies
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 7568
    Email: h.c.smith@bham.ac.uk
  • Nicola Smith
    Senior Lecturer in Political Science
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 288 2937
          +44 (0) 121 414 7569
    Email: n.j.smith@bham.ac.uk
  • Jill Steans
    Senior Lecturer in International Relations Theory
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 6278
    Email: j.a.steans@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Nicki Ward
    Lecturer in Applied Social Sciences
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 5713
    Email: n.j.ward@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Ruth Whittle
    Lecturer in German Studies
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 5996
    Email: r.whittle@bham.ac.uk
  • Professor Heather Widdows
    Head of Research for Philosophy, Theology and Religion
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 8399
    Email: h.widdows@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Jessica Woodhams
    Senior Lecturer in Forensic Psychology
    Email: j.woodhams@bham.ac.uk
  • Dr Simon Yarrow
    Lecturer in Medieval History
    Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 5744
    Email: s.s.yarrow@bham.ac.uk

Contact

Research degrees are best planned by individual discussion, so if you have a particular subject area in mind, please contact the staff member you deem to be most suitable for advice on formulating research proposals. See ‘Research areas’ for more information on individual staff research interests.

Professor of French Discourses of Sexuality and Programme Convenor, Professor Lisa Downing 

Employability

The University of Birmingham has been ranked 8th in the UK and 60th in the world for post-qualification employability in the latest global survey of universities commissioned by the International Herald Tribune.

Your degree will provide excellent preparation for employment and this will be further enhanced by the employability skills training offered through the College of Arts and Law Graduate School.

Our graduates develop a range of skills including, familiarity with research methods, the ability to manage large and diverse quantities of information, and the expertise to write clearly and concisely and to tight deadlines, which can be used in a variety of occupations. A snapshot of graduate destinations over a five-year period has identified a variety of career paths, from journalism, to accounting, to lecturing. Historically, over 96 per cent of our students have been in employment or further study within six months of graduating.

Contact

Research degrees are best planned by individual discussion, so if you have a particular subject area in mind, please contact the staff member you deem to be most suitable for advice on formulating research proposals. See ‘Research areas’ for more information on individual staff research interests.

Professor of French Discourses of Sexuality and Programme Convenor, Professor Lisa Downing