Department of Economics Staff

Dr Facundo Albornoz-Crespo

Dr Facundo Albornoz-Crespo

Reader in Economics

Department of Economics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 415 8214

Email f.albornoz@bham.ac.uk

Dr Thomas Allen

Dr Thomas Allen

Teaching Fellow

Department of Economics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 415 8642

Email t.allen.1@bham.ac.uk

Professor Roger Backhouse

Professor Roger Backhouse

Professor of the History and Philosophy of Economics

Department of Economics

Roger Backhouse's recent research has been on the history of economics, including a book on John Maynard Keynes, and the the history of the social sciences since 1945. His book, co-authored with Mauro Boianovsky, Transforming Modern Macroeconomics; Exploring Disequilibrium Microfoundations, 1956-2003has been awarded the Blangui Prize by the European Society of the History of Economic ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6655

Email r.e.backhouse@bham.ac.uk

Ralph Bailey

Ralph Bailey

Senior Lecturer

Department of Economics

Research Interests:

Time series econometrics; quantitative methods; philosophy of research and enquiry

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6633

Email r.w.bailey@bham.ac.uk

Dr Siddhartha Bandyopadhyay

Dr Siddhartha Bandyopadhyay

Senior Lecturer in Economics

Department of Economics

Siddhartha is an internationally recognised economist in the field of political economy and public policy. His work on political coalitions has been published in internationally leading journals and has been widely cited by leading scholars in the field. His papers are on the reading list of a numner of courses in political economy in reputed universities. He has a particular interest in ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6658

Email s.bandyopadhyay@bham.ac.uk

Professor Anindya Banerjee

Professor Anindya Banerjee

Professor of Econometrics

Department of Economics

Research interests: Factor models; forecasting with large datasets; time-varying structural vector autoregressions; panel data models with integrated series

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6646

Email a.banerjee@bham.ac.uk

Dr Marco Barassi

Dr Marco Barassi

Lecturer in Econometrics
Programme Director

Department of Economics

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6648

Email m.r.barassi@bham.ac.uk

Dr Giovanni Calice

Dr Giovanni Calice

Lecturer in Financial Economics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4956

Email g.calice@bham.ac.uk

Professor Matthew Cole

Professor Matthew Cole

Professor of Environmental Economics

Department of Economics

Research Interests: Environmental Economics; Development Economics; International Economics (and the intersection of the three)

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6639

Email m.a.cole@bham.ac.uk

Dr Giovanna d’Adda

Dr Giovanna d’Adda

Lecturer in Economics

Department of Economics

Giovanna d’Adda is a development and behavioral economist whose research focuses on the analysis of how formal and informal institutions can foster pro-social behavior, measured using original survey and experimental data. She received her PhD from Bocconi University before becoming lecturer at the University of Birmingham in 2012.

Ceri Davies

Ceri Davies

Teaching Fellow
Department of Economics

Department of Economics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4957

Email c.r.davies.1@bham.ac.uk

Dr Amalia Di Girolamo

Dr Amalia Di Girolamo

Lecturer in Experimental Economics

Department of Economics

Amalia Di Girolamo is an experimental and behavioural economist. Her research is primarily focused on the analysis of decision-making under risk. Part of her research has analysed the importance of financial literacy on the individual choices by means of field and lab experiments. Another significant strand of Amalia’s research looks at the role of gender differences in risk and ...

Telephone +44(0) 121 415 8215

Email a.digirolamo@bham.ac.uk

Dr Michalis Drouvelis

Dr Michalis Drouvelis

Reader in Behavioural Economics

Department of Economics

Research interests: Behavioural and Experimental Economics, Applied Game Theory, Public Economics

Personal homepage: https://sites.google.com/site/michalisdrouvelis/

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6040

Email m.drouvelis@bham.ac.uk

Professor Jayasri Dutta

Professor Jayasri Dutta

Professor of Economics

Department of Economics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6656

Email j.dutta@bham.ac.uk

Professor Robert Elliott

Professor Robert Elliott

Professor
Director of Education
Director of Admissions and Recruitment

Department of Economics

Professor Robert Elliott is an applied economist who works at the intersection of international economics, development economics, environmental and energy economics and international business. He has a particular interest in the Chinese economy, firm behaviour, natural disasters and the impact of globalisation on the environment.

Browser does not support script.

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 7700

Email r.j.elliott@bham.ac.uk

Dr Joanne Ercolani

Dr Joanne Ercolani

Senior Lecturer in Economics

Department of Economics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6652

Email j.s.ercolani@bham.ac.uk

Dr Marco Ercolani

Dr Marco Ercolani

Lecturer in Econometrics

Department of Economics

Curriculum vitae

Personal Homepage

I am an applied econometrician. I work on a range of socio-economic problems with particular focus on using large datasets to look into issues on health, ageing, and education. In addition to using standard econometric procedures, I program statistical packages to carry out non-standard regressions and tests. I enjoy ...

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 7701

Email m.g.ercolani@bham.ac.uk

Professor John Fender

Professor John Fender

Professor of Macroeconomics
Leader of the Macroeconomics and Finance Research Group
Deputy Head of Department

Department of Economics

John Fender has been at the University of Birmingham since 1992 and Professor of Macroeconomics since 1998. He is leader of the Macroeconomics and Finance Research Group and Deputy Head of Department. His main current research interest is in analysing the effects of fiscal consolidation programmes. He published a book on Monetary Policy in 2012.

John Fender CV

Telephone +44 (0)121 41 46644

Email j.fender@bham.ac.uk

Dr Rosa Fernandez

Dr Rosa Fernandez

Teaching Fellow in Economics

Department of Economics

Telephone +44 (0)121 41 45020

Email r.m.fernandez@bham.ac.uk

Panagiotis Fouskas

Panagiotis Fouskas

Teaching Fellow in Economics

Department of Economics

Panos joined the Department of Economics, at Birmingham University, in 2014. He holds a BSc degree in Economics with specialization in General Economic Theory and Policy from Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (AUTH), Greece and a MSc degree in Financial and Business Economics from University of Essex, Department of Economics, UK. Panos is currently completing his PhD in Productivity ...

Telephone +44(0) 121 414 8211

Email fouskasp@bham.ac.uk

Dr Christoph Görtz

Dr Christoph Görtz

Lecturer in Macroeconomics

Research Interests:

Macroeconomics with particular interest in business cycles; news, expectations and learning; financial intermediation and financial frictions; DSGE modelling; and inventory and investment dynamics.

For more information please visit my personal website

Email c.g.gortz@bham.ac.uk

Professor Alessandra Guariglia

Professor Alessandra Guariglia

Professor of Financial Economics
Head of Department

Department of Economics

Alessandra Guariglia received her PhD from Boston University. She is currently a Professor of Financial Economics and Head of the Department of Economics at the University of Birmingham. Prior to that, she has worked at the Universities of Essex, Kent, Nottingham, and Durham. She is an Associate Editor of the Journal of Banking and Finance and the European Journal of Finance. In 2011 and ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 4148312

Email a.guariglia@bham.ac.uk

Marta Guerriero

Marta Guerriero

Department of Economics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 8211

Email m.guerriero@bham.ac.uk

Dr Michael Henry

Dr Michael Henry

Lecturer in Economics

Department of Economics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 415 8363

Email m.henry.1@bham.ac.uk

Dr. Maria Jesus Herrerias

Dr. Maria Jesus Herrerias

Lecturer in Energy Economics

Department of Economics

Maria Jesus Herrerias is Lecturer in Energy Economics at the Department of Economics at the University of Birmingham. She is an expert on Chinese studies based on economic growth, international trade and regional development.

Recently, she has started to work on energy and environmental issues in the case of developed and developing countries with emphasis on China. Her ...

Telephone 0121 414 50 25

Email m.j.herrerias@bham.ac.uk

Nicholas Horsewood

Nicholas Horsewood

Senior Lecturer in Economics

Department of Economics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6647

Email n.j.horsewood@bham.ac.uk

Dr Toby Kendall

Dr Toby Kendall

Senior Lecturer in Economics

Department of Economics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6654

Email t.kendall@bham.ac.uk

Dr Pei Kuang

Dr Pei Kuang

Lecturer in Macroeconomics

Department of Economics

Telephone (+44) (0)121 4145620

Email p.kuang@bham.ac.uk

Federico Lampis

Federico Lampis

Teaching Fellow in Economics

Department of Economics

Telephone +44 (0)121 41 58746

Email f.lampis@bham.ac.uk

Professor Zhenya Liu

Professor Zhenya Liu

Lead for the Applied Quantitative Financial Economic Research Group (AQFER)

Department of Economics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 7703

Email z.liu.5@bham.ac.uk

Professor David Maddison

Professor David Maddison

Professor of Economics

Department of Economics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6653

Email d.j.maddison@bham.ac.uk

Mr. Afrasiab Mirza

Mr. Afrasiab Mirza

Lecturer in Banking and Finance

Department of Economics

Research Interests: Banking Regulation, Corporate Finance, Optimal Taxation, Mechanism Design

Personal Website

Telephone +44 (0)121 4148077

Email a.mirza@bham.ac.uk

Dr William Pouliot

Dr William Pouliot

Lecturer in Economics

Department of Economics

Research interests: Econometric Theory, Financial Econometrics, Labour Economics

Telephone (0121) 414 5023

Email w.pouliot@bham.ac.uk

Dr Daniela Raeva-Beri

Dr Daniela Raeva-Beri

Lecturer in Economics

Department of Economics

Email d.raeva-beri@bham.ac.uk

Professor Indrajit Ray

Professor Indrajit Ray

Professor of Economics (Chair in Economic Theory)

Department of Economics

Indra Ray works on communication in games, in particular, theoretical concepts such as implementation in correlated strategies, mediation in cheap talk games and applied topics such as correlation in oligopolies, strategic market games and environmental games. He also conducts experiments on notions of correlation, sunspots and cheap talk.

MY LINKS:

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 8566

Email i.ray@bham.ac.uk

Dr Colin Rowat

Dr Colin Rowat

Lecturer in Economics

Department of Economics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 3754

Email c.rowat@bham.ac.uk

Professor Cillian Ryan

Professor Cillian Ryan

Dean of Liberal Arts & Sciences and Jean Monnet Chair in European Economics

Department of Economics

Professor Somnath Sen

Professor Somnath Sen

Emeritus Professor
Professor of Development Economics

Department of Economics

Research interest: Macroeconomic Policy, Development Economics, Defence Economics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6741

Email s.sen@bham.ac.uk

Professor Peter Sinclair

Professor Peter Sinclair

Emeritus Professor

Department of Economics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6641

Email p.j.n.sinclair@bham.ac.uk

Dr Hector Solaz

Dr Hector Solaz

Lecturer in Experimental Economics

Department of Economics

Hector’s main research interests lie within behavioural economics. He mainly uses lab experimental methods to study the economic implications and foundations of behavioural phenomena. In particular, he focuses on the determinants of cooperation in collective actions, the emergence and enforcement of social norms, and recently the role of behavioural biases on voting. Hector received ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 4145018

Email h.solaz@bham.ac.uk

Dr Frank Strobel

Dr Frank Strobel

Senior Lecturer in Economics

Department of Economics

Research Interests: Banking, Finance

Office hours: see here

Telephone 0121 414 6640

Email f.strobel@bham.ac.uk

Dr Kamilya Suleymenova

Dr Kamilya Suleymenova

Teaching Fellow in Economics

Department of Economics

Telephone +44 (0)121 41 58197

Mr Dawid Trzeciakiewicz

Mr Dawid Trzeciakiewicz

Teaching Fellow in Economics

Department of Economics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 7290

Email d.trzeciakiewicz@bham.ac.uk

Dr Yao Yao

Dr Yao Yao

Teaching Fellow in Economics

Department of Economics

Telephone +44 (0)121 41 46638

Email y.yao@bham.ac.uk

 

Visiting staff

Colin Ellis
Visiting Research Fellow

Professor Ravi Kanbur
Visiting Research Professor

Professor Eric Strobl
Visiting Research Professor

Puyang Sun
Visiting Lecturer (Masters Supervision)