Staff list


Head of School

Professor Mark Simmons

Professor Mark Simmons

Head of School
Chair in Fluid Mechanics

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5371

Email headchemeng@contacts.bham.ac.uk

 

Academic staff

Professor Mike Adams

Professor Mike Adams

Professor of Product Engineering and Manufacturing

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5297

Email m.j.adams@bham.ac.uk

Dr Bushra Al-Duri

Reader in Chemical Engineering

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 3969

Email b.al-duri@bham.ac.uk

Dr Alessio Alexiadis

Dr Alessio Alexiadis

Lecturer in Chemical Engineering

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5305

Email a.alexiadis@bham.ac.uk

Professor Mostafa Barigou

Professor Mostafa Barigou

Chair of Chemical Engineering

Email m.barigou@bham.ac.uk

Professor Stuart Blackburn

Professor Stuart Blackburn

Professor of Solids Processing

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 3446

Email s.blackburn@bham.ac.uk

Dr Aman Dhir

Dr Aman Dhir

Teaching fellow in Solid Oxide Fuel Cells
Centre Manager

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5081

Email a.dhir@bham.ac.uk

Professor Peter Fryer

Professor Peter Fryer

Professor of Chemical Engineering

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5451

Email p.j.fryer@bham.ac.uk

Dr Anita K Ghag

Dr Anita K Ghag

Lecturer in Biomaterials

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5365

Email a.k.ghag@bham.ac.uk

Dr Kostas Gkatzionis

Dr Kostas Gkatzionis

Lecturer in Food Microbiology

Telephone +44 (0) 121 415 8329

Email k.gkatzionis@bham.ac.uk

Mr Christopher Gower

Mr Christopher Gower

Senior Lecturer
MSc IPM Course Leader

Telephone +44 (0)7747 020065

Email c.gower@bham.ac.uk

Dr Richard Greenwood

Dr Richard Greenwood

Engineering Doctorate Programme Manager

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 7234

Email r.w.greenwood@bham.ac.uk

Professor Liam Grover

Professor Liam Grover

Professor of Biomaterials Science
Director of Research
Director of International Exchange for Engineering

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 3887

Email l.m.grover@bham.ac.uk

Professor Andreas Hornung

Professor Andreas Hornung

Professor of Bioenergy

Telephone +49 9661 908 408

Professor Kevin Kendall

Professor Kevin Kendall

Professor of Formulation Engineering

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 2739

Email k.kendall@bham.ac.uk

Dr Gary Leeke

Reader in Low Carbon Technologies
Undergraduate Admissions Tutor

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5351

Email g.a.leeke@bham.ac.uk

Professor Paula M Mendes

Professor Paula M Mendes

Professor of Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology
EPSRC Leadership Fellow

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5343

Email p.m.mendes@bham.ac.uk

Dr Tom Mills

Dr Tom Mills

Lecturer in Food Manufacture

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5363

Email millstb@bham.ac.uk

Professor Alvin W Nienow

Professor Alvin W Nienow

Emeritus Professor of Biochemical Engineering

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 3947

Email a.w.nienow@bham.ac.uk

Professor Ian Norton

Professor Ian Norton

Professor of Chemical Engineering

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5296

Email i.t.norton@bham.ac.uk

Professor Andrzej Pacek

Professor Andrzej Pacek

Professor of Multiphase Systems

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5308

Email a.w.pacek@bham.ac.uk

Dr Neil V Rees

Lecturer in fuel cell research

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5325

Email n.rees@bham.ac.uk

Dr Alex Robinson

Science City Research Alliance Senior Research Fellow

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4641

Email a.p.g.robinson@bham.ac.uk

Dr Neil Rowson

Dr Neil Rowson

Reader in Minerals Engineering

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5298

Email n.a.rowson@bham.ac.uk

Dr Surbhi Sharma

Dr Surbhi Sharma

Teaching Fellow
Research Fellow

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5081

Email s.sharma.1@bham.ac.uk

Ms Madeleine Smith

Teaching Fellow, Food Safety

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5291

Email m.p.smith.20@bham.ac.uk

Dr Fotios Spyropoulos

Dr Fotios Spyropoulos

Lecturer in Chemical Engineering

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5341

Email f.spyropoulos@bham.ac.uk

Professor Colin Thomas

Professor Colin Thomas

Professor of Biochemical Engineering
Head of Quality Assurance and Enhancement, College of Engineering and Physical Sciences

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5355

Email c.r.thomas@bham.ac.uk

Mrs Lisa-Marie Winnall

Mrs Lisa-Marie Winnall

Teaching Fellow Food Safety

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5529

Email l.winnall@bham.ac.uk

Professor Joe Wood

Professor Joe Wood

Chair in Chemical Reaction Engineering

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5295

Email j.wood@bham.ac.uk

Professor Zhibing Zhang

Professor Zhibing Zhang

Professor of Chemical Engineering

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5334

Email z.zhang@bham.ac.uk

 

Research Staff

Dr James Bowen

Dr James Bowen

Facilities Manager for Science City Advanced Materials II Chemical Engineering
Research Fellow

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5080

Email j.bowen.1@bham.ac.uk

Dr Amjad Shah

Research Fellow

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 5081

Email shahaa@bham.ac.uk