People

Below is a listing of the academic staff in the School of Physics and Astronomy. Click here for Key contacts.

Head of School

Physics and Astronomy academic staff

Dr Benjamin Béri

Dr Benjamin Béri

Birmingham Fellow and Royal Society University Research Fellow

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4693

Email b.beri@bham.ac.uk

Professor Kai Bongs

Professor Kai Bongs

Professor of Cold Atom Physics
Chair in Cold Atoms and Head of Group

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 8278

Email k.bongs@bham.ac.uk

Dr Mark Colclough

Dr Mark Colclough

Lecturer
Director of Laboratory Learning and Teaching

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 3948

Email m.s.colclough@bham.ac.uk

Professor Adrian Michael Cruise

Professor Adrian Michael Cruise

Professor of Astrophysics and Space Research

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6451

Email a.m.cruise@bham.ac.uk

Professor Yvonne Elsworth

Professor of Helioseismology
Poynting Professor of Physics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4597

Email y.p.elsworth@bham.ac.uk

Professor David Evans

Professor David Evans

Professor in High Energy Physics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4227

Email d.evans@bham.ac.uk

Professor Martin Freer

Professor Martin Freer

Professor of Nuclear Physics
Head of Nuclear Physics
Director of the Birmingham Centre of Nuclear Education and Research

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 3384

Email freerm@adf.bham.ac.uk

Professor Andreas Freise

Professor Andreas Freise

Professor of Experimental Physics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 3565

Email a.freise@bham.ac.uk

Dr Dimitri M Gangardt

Dr Dimitri M Gangardt

Lecturer in Theoretical Physics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 8164

Email d.m.gangardt@bham.ac.uk

Professor Mike Gunn

Professor Mike Gunn

Professor of Theoretical Physics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4585

Email j.m.f.gunn@bham.ac.uk

Dr Quanmin Guo

Dr Quanmin Guo

Senior Lecturer

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4657

Email q.guo@bham.ac.uk

Professor Peter Jones

Professor Peter Jones

Professor of Nuclear Physics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4677

Email p.g.jones@bham.ac.uk

Dr Cristina Lazzeroni

Reader in Particle Physics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4614

Email c.lazzeroni@bham.ac.uk

Professor Igor Lerner

Professor of Theoretical Physics

Telephone +44 (0) 414 4574

Email i.v.lerner@bham.ac.uk

Dr Jensen Li

Dr Jensen Li

Senior Lecturer

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 6472

Email j.li@bham.ac.uk

Dr Ziyou Li

Dr Ziyou Li

Reader in Nanoscale Science

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4593/+44 (0) 121 414 7327

Email z.li@bham.ac.uk

Dr Christopher Mayhew

Reader in Molecular Physics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4729

Email c.mayhew@bham.ac.uk

Dr Will Meierjurgen Farr

Dr Will Meierjurgen Farr

Lecturer
Birmingham Fellow

Telephone +44 (0) 783 115 3237

Email w.farr@bham.ac.uk

Dr Andrea Miglio

Dr Andrea Miglio

Lecturer in Astrophysics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4575

Email a.miglio@bham.ac.uk

Professor Paul Newman

Professor Paul Newman

Professor of Particle Physics

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4617

Email p.r.newman@bham.ac.uk

Professor Richard E Palmer

Professor Richard E Palmer

Professor of Experimental Physics
Head, Nanoscale Physics Research Laboratory

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4653

Email r.e.palmer@bham.ac.uk

Professor David Parker

Professor David Parker

Professor of Physics

Telephone +44 (0) 414 4708

Email d.j.parker@bham.ac.uk

Professor Trevor Ponman

Professor Trevor Ponman

Professor of Astrophysics

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6448

Email t.j.ponman@bham.ac.uk

Dr Graham P Smith

Dr Graham P Smith

Reader in Cosmology
Royal Society University Research Fellow
Director of the University of Birmingham Observatory

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4600

Email smithgp@bham.ac.uk

Professor Clive Speake

Professor Clive Speake

Professor of Experimental Physics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4679

Email c.c.speake@bham.ac.uk

Professor Alberto Vecchio

Professor Alberto Vecchio

Professor of Astrophysics

Telephone 44 (0)121 414 6447

Email a.vecchio@bham.ac.uk

Dr Nigel Watson

Reader in Particle Physics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4699

Email nigel.watson@cern.ch

Dr Nicola Wilkin

Dr Nicola Wilkin

Lecturer in Theoretical Physics

Telephone 44 (0)121 414 4661

Email n.k.wilkin@bham.ac.uk

Dr John Allan Wilson

Dr John Allan Wilson

Reader in Particle Physics

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4654

Email j.a.wilson@bham.ac.uk

Professor Shuang Zhang

Professor Shuang Zhang

Professor of Metamaterials

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4719

Email s.zhang@bham.ac.uk