Staff in Theology and Religion

Professors, Readers, Senior Lecturers and Lecturers

Dr Andrew Davies  
Head of Department
Reader in the Public Understanding of Religion

Professor Nicholas Adams
Chair in Philosophical Theology

Professor Allan Anderson
Professor of Mission and Pentecostal Studies

Dr Katherine E Brown
Lecturer in Islamic Studies 

Professor Jocelyne Cesari
Professor of Religion and Politics 

Dr David Cheetham  
Head of School of Philosophy, Theology and Religion
Reader in Philosophical Theology

Professor Francis Davis
Professor of Religion, Communities and Public Policy

Dr Deryn Guest
Senior Lecturer in Biblical Hermeneutics

Professor Charlotte Hempel
Professor of Hebrew Bible and Second Temple Judaism

Dr Hugh Houghton
Reader in New Testament Textual Scholarship

Dr Haifaa Jawad
Senior Lecturer in Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies

Dr Jagbir Jhutti-Johal 
Senior Lecturer in Sikh Studies

Dr Jeremy Kidwell
Theological ethics

Dr Grace Milton 
Teaching Fellow in Theology and Religion

Professor Jorgen Nielsen 
Professor of Contemporary European Islam

Professor David Parker 
Edward Cadbury Professor of Theology

Professor Stephen Pattison
Professor of Religion, Ethics and Practice

Professor David Thomas 
Professor of Christianity and Islam

Dr Sophia Vasalou
Birmingham Fellow in Philosophical Theology 

Dr Wolfgang Vondey 
Reader in Contemporary Christianity and Pentecostal Studies

Dr Karen Wenell
Lecturer in New Testament and Theology

Dr Isabel Wollaston 
Senior Lecturer in Jewish and Holocaust Studies

Research Fellows

Baroness Berridge of the Vale of Catmose
Senior Research Fellow. Principal Investigator, Commonwealth Initiative for the Freedom of Religion or Belief

Dr Josef Boehle 
Research Fellow in Globalisation, Religion and Politics

Dr Sophie Bremner 
Research Fellow, Megachurches and Social Engagement in London project

Dr Heather Buckingham 
Research Fellow, Megachurches and Social Engagement in London project

Dr John Chesworth
Research Officer Christian-Muslim Relations: A Bibliographical History 1500-1900

Dr Sarah Dunlop 
Research Fellow, Megachurches and Social Engagement in London project


Harriet Hoffler
Research Fellow, Commonwealth Initiative on the Freedom of Religion or Belief

Dr Catherine Smith
Research Fellow and Technical Officer, Institute for Textual Scholarship and Electronic Editing

Associate, Emeritus and Honorary Staff

Dr Ann Conway-Jones
Honorary Research Fellow

Dr Rebecca Catto
Honorary Research Fellow

Dr Ian Draper
Honorary Research Fellow

Professor Ben Pink Dandelion
Honorary Professor of Quaker Studies

Dr Marius Felderhof
Honorary Senior Research Fellow

Revd. Dr Alison J Gray 
Honorary Fellow, Edward Cadbury Centre for the Public Understanding of Religion

Elizabeth Hingley
Honorary Research Fellow

Tanya Riches
Honorary Research Associate, Centre for Public Understanding of Religion

Dr Sigvard Von Sicard
Emeritus Senior Research Fellow

Canon Dr Andrew Smith
Honorary Research Fellow

Professor Martin Stringer 
Professor of Liturgical and Congregational Studies

Professor R. S. Sugirtharajah
Emeritus Professor of Biblical Hermeneutics

Dr Sharada Sugirtharajah 
Honorary Senior Research Fellow

Professor Werner Ustorf
Emeritus Professor of Mission

Michael Wear
Honorary Research Fellow

Derek Willis
Honorary Research Fellow

Professor Frances Young
Emerita Edward Cadbury Professor of Theology