Clinical Immunology Service Staff

Director of Clinical Immunology Service

Professor A. Richter

Professor and Honorary Consultant in Clinical Immunology

View profile

Alex Richter

Professor S. Freeman

Deputy Director

View profile


Lead Consultant Haematologist

Laboratory Manager

Tim Plant
(Biomedical Scientist BMS4)

Tim Plant.

Clinical Lecturer

Adrian Shields
(Clinical Immunologist)

Adrian Shields

Honorary Professor

Professor Saiju Jacob
Consultant Neurologist
Honorary Professor, University of Birmingham

Saiju Jacob

Technical staff:

The department is supported by a team of 6 Medical Laboratory Assistants, 13 Biomedical Laboratory Scientists and 5 Clinical Scientists.

Midlands Integrated Reporting for Haemato-Oncology (MIRHO)

Our MIRHO team has expanded - please visit the MIRHO website for further information on our team members. 


Haemato-oncology, Cell Function and Immuno-phenotyping

Lead for Haemato-oncology

Sylvie Freeman (Deputy Director)

Clinical Scientists

Nick McCarthy (Clinical R&D lead, AML trials)

Hayder Hussein

Sarah Terjesen

Biomedical Scientists (BMS1)

Steven Dix 

Mark Fellows 

Genevieve Panaro 

Kamila Silverio Fernadez

Neuroimmunology/Autoimmune serology/Immunochemistry

Clinical Scientist

Siobhan Young

Biomedical Scientist (BMS2)

Zaheer Afzal

David Birch

Biomedical Scientist (BMS1)

Bilal Jeewa 

Amanjoyt Bahra

Beena Emmanuel

Claire Backhouse (Trainee Biomedical Scientist)

Doreen Lau (Medical Laboratory Assistant MLA)

Research and Development

Senior Research Fellow

Margaret Goodall - Manager, monoclonal antibody production

Naeem Khan (R & D)

Jen Heaney (R & D)

Research Fellow

Ilaria Chicca (R & D)

Sian Faustini - R & D


Akshay Patel (Surgeon)

Danai Bagkou (R & D)

Daniel Ebanks - Immunodiagnostics

R & D

Daniele Fairweather Tipping (BMS1)

Specimen Reception

Medical Laboratory Assistant (MLA)

Lynsey Dunbar -Section Head/Senior MLA

Julie Banner-Broadhead

Quality Manager/Assurance

Siobhan Young

Office/Clerical Staff

Nicola Newnham - Trial Coordinator

Sue Terry - PA/Secretary

Samantha Finch

Margaret Dunbar

Jayson Hewitt

Emma Hickman