Clinical Immunology Service Staff

Director of Clinical Immunology Service

Professor A. Richter

Professor and Honorary Consultant in Clinical Immunology

View profile

Alex Richter

Professor S. Freeman

Deputy Director

View profile


Professor M T Drayson
(Clinical Immunology / Immunohaematology / Myeloma trials)

Mark Drayson

Professor P J Lane
(Clinical Immunology / Allergy)

lane, peter 2016

Fiona Clark
Lead Consultant Haematologist

Laboratory Manager

Tim Plant
(Biomedical Scientist BMS4)

Tim Plant.

Clinical Lecturer

Adrian Shields
(Clinical Immunologist)

Adrian Shields

Honorary Reader

Professor Saiju Jacob
Consultant Neurologist
Honorary Professor, University of Birmingham

Saiju Jacob

Technical staff:

The department is supported by a team of 6 Medical Laboratory Assistants, 13 Biomedical Laboratory Scientists and 5 Clinical Scientists.

Midlands Integrated Reporting for Haemato-Oncology (MIRHO)

Consultant Haematologist

Tracey Chan

Manoj Raghaven

Juliet Mills

MIRHO Manager

Nisar Ahmad - Clinical Scientist


Sylvie Freeman (Deputy Director, Lead for Haemato-oncology)

Clinical Scientist

Nick McCarthy (Clinical R&D lead, AML trials)

Hayder Hussein

Neuroimmunology/Autoimmune serology/Immunochemistry

Lead Clinical Scientist

Abid Karim - Neuroimmunology

Clinical Scientist

Siobhan Young

Biomedical Scientist (BMS2)

Zaheer Afzal

David Birch

Biomedical Scientist (BMS1)

Bilal Jeewa 

Amanjoyt Bahra

Beena Emmanuel

Claire Backhouse (Trainee Biomedical Scientist)

Doreen Lau (Medical Laboratory Assistant MLA)

Research and Development

Senior Research Fellow

Margaret Goodall - Manager, monoclonal antibody production

Naeem Khan (R & D)

Jen Heaney (R & D)

Research Fellow

Ilaria Chicca (R & D)

Sian Faustini - R & D


Akshay Patel (Surgeon)

Danai Bagkou (R & D)

Daniel Ebanks - Immunodiagnostics

R & D

Daniele Fairweather Tipping (BMS1)

Cell Function and Immuno-phenotyping

Clinical Scientist 

Sarah Terjesen 

Biomedical Scientist (BMS1)

Steven Dix 

Mark Fellows 

Genevieve Panaro 

Kamila Silverio Fernadez

Specimen Reception

Medical Laboratory Assistant (MLA)

Lynsey Dunbar -Section Head/Senior MLA

Julie Banner-Broadhead

Quality Manager/Assurance

Siobhan Young

Office/Clerical Staff

Nicola Newnham - Trial Coordinator

Sue Terry - PA/Secretary

Samantha Finch

Margaret Dunbar

Jayson Hewitt

Emma Hickman