AHRC funding through the Midlands4Cities Doctoral Training Partnership

Level of study
Doctoral research
Subject area
Arts and Law, African Studies, American and Canadian Studies, Antiquity, Archaeology, Classics and Ancient History, Drama and Theatre Arts, English Language and Linguistics, English Literature, Film and Creative Writing, Heritage, History, History of Art, Law, Modern Languages and Cultures, Music, Philosophy, Theology and Religion, Geography, Education
EU, Overseas (Non-EU), UK
Type of Award
Research Council
Deadline for applying
Closed 10/01/2024 (Note: competition closed for this year)

Award Description

Midlands4Cities (M4C) is a collaboration between the University of Birmingham, Birmingham City University, University of Warwick, Coventry University, University of Leicester, De Montfort University, Nottingham Trent University and The University of Nottingham.

For 2024 entry Midlands4Cities Doctoral Training Partnership is offering up to 70 fully funded PhD studentships for eligible students in arts and humanities through an Open Competition and 16 studentships through Collaborative Doctoral Awards (CDA). The CDA projects provide diverse and unique project opportunities with national, regional and local partner organisations.

For 2024, the Stuart Hall Foundation (SHF) Scholarship will support up to two studentships a year for Black, Asian and Minoritised Ethnic candidates to undertake doctoral research in arts and humanities.

Find out more about SHF

Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) funding is open to UK and International research students. M4C studentships can be undertaken full-time and part-time. Studentships for open doctoral awards are for 3.5 years and for the CDAs are for 4 years full-time study (a maximum of 7 years and 8 years respectively for part-time study).

There are two routes to PhD study:

Open Doctoral Awards, where you agree a research proposal in any disciplinary or interdisciplinary area of the arts and humanities with your supervisory team. (70 awards available)

Collaborative Doctoral Awards (CDAs), which are co-designed between an M4C institution and an external partner organisation. (16 awards available) 

Value of Award

A full-time studentship award consists of three parts:

  • Payment of approved fees (as set and agreed by the Research Councils) 
  • Maintenance grant (or stipend) for the student 
  • Research Training Support Grant (RTSG) which includes UK/overseas fieldwork and attendance at conferences (by application only for current PhD students)

Eligibility Criteria

These awards are open to all UK and International students who meet the academic and residency eligibility criteria, as detailed in the M4C application Guidance Notes. Studentships for open doctoral awards are for 3.5 years and for the collaborative doctoral awards are for 4 years full-time study. The awards are for campus-based students only, and distance learning is therefore not eligible.

Current PhD students are eligible to apply for an M4C studentship, providing that, at the start of the award, you have at least 50% (excluding writing-up) of your period of study remaining. Please read our FAQs for further details. 

Please also refer to the Midlands4Cities Doctoral Training Partnership website.

How to Apply

The deadline for AHRC funding applications is 12:00 GMT on 10 January 2024. Applicants must also have applied for a place to study at one of the eight M4C universities.

The University of Birmingham & Birmingham City University will be holding a joint online writing workshop on Saturday 11 November 2023 11:00-16:00 UK time. There are other joint writing workshops available, held online by the Coventry, Leicester and Nottingham universities.

For full eligibility, funding, research supervision areas and CDA project details, and for dates and booking information for the November 2023 application writing workshops, visit the M4C website or contact enquiries@midlands4cities.ac.uk.