The International Advisory Board

In addition to the five partner NGOs, the following experts are also members of the CSRS International Advisory Board:

Professor Rashida Manjoo is the former United Nations Special Rapporteur on Violence against Women, its Causes and Consequences. A tireless activist for women’s rights, in 2001 she was appointed as the parliamentary commissioner to the Commission for Gender Equality in South Africa. She is a Professor of Public Law at the University of Cape Town, and in June 2017 she received an honorary doctorate from the University of Glasgow.

Professor Juan Méndez is the former United Nations Special Rapporteur on Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman and Degrading Treatment or Punishment. He is currently Professor of Human Rights in Residence at the American University, and in early 2017 he was elected Commissioner of the International Commission of Jurists in Geneva. An expert on transitional justice, he is the former president of the International Center for Transitional Justice and has been involved in important transitional justice work in Colombia. 

Professor Helen A. Neville is a professor of Educational Psychology and Afro-American Studies at the University of Illinois. She works on race, racial identity, diversity and issues related to well-being. She has co-edited five books and (co)-authored almost 90 articles and book chapters. In 2016, she was awarded the American Psychological Association’s Outstanding Contribution to Scholarship on Race and Ethnicity Award.

Professor Michael Ungar is a world-leading expert on resilience. Based in the School of Social Work at Dalhousie University in Canada, he has published 14 books and over 135 journal articles and book chapters. His pioneering work places a strong emphasis on the relationship between resilience and culture. In 2012, he was awarded the Canadian Association of Social Workers National Distinguished Service Award.