Professors, Senior Lecturers, Lecturers and Researchers

Staff by research supervision area: find a research supervisor in Philosophy

Dr Jussi Suikkanen
Head of Department of Philosophy
Metaethics and ethical theories

Professor Lisa Bortolotti
Philosophy of mind, philosophy of psychology, philosophy of psychiatry, biomedical ethics

Dr Luke Brunning
Teaching Fellow

Dr Darragh Byrne
Philosophy of mind and language, philosophical logic, epistemology

Dr Nikk Effingham

Professor Kit Fine
(NYU; Distinguished Research Professor at Birmingham)
Metaphysics, logic, philosophy of language

Dr Salvatore Florio 
Philosophy of language, philosophical logic, and philosophy of mathematics

Professor Alison M. Jaggar
(University of Colorado at Boulder; Distinguished Research Professor at Birmingham)
Moral and political philosophy, feminist philosophy

Dr Anneli Jefferson
Philosophy of psychology and moral philosophy

Dr Nicholas Jones
Metaphysics, philosophy of language, logic 

Dr Elena Kalmykova
Phenomenology and embodied approaches to religion

Dr Iain Law
Meta-ethics, applied ethics and ethical theory

Dr Herjeet Marway
Moral, social, and political philosophy, global ethics, feminist philosophy

Professor Yujin Nagasawa
Philosophy of religion, philosophy of mind, applied ethics

Dr Wouter Peeters
Climate change, environmental sustainability, social justice, cosmopolitanism and bioethics

Dr Angie Pepper
Global justice, liberalism, animal rights, feminist philosophy and applied ethics

Dr Mihaela Popa-Wyatt
Philosophy of Language, Meta-ethics

Dr Merten Reglitz
Lecturer in Global Ethics

Ms Katie Robertson
Research Fellow

Dr Alex Silk
Philosophy of language, ethics, metaethics

Dr Maja Spener
Philosophy of mind and psychology and epistemology

Dr Sophie Stammers
Philosophy of mind, epistemology and philosophy of cognitive science

Professor Scott Sturgeon
Epistemology, metaphysics and the philosophy of mind

Dr Ema Sullivan-Bissett
Philosophy of mind, philosophy of psychology

Dr Henry Taylor
Philosophy of mind, philosophy of psychology, metaphysics

Professor Heather Widdows
Moral, social and feminist philosophy, philosophy of the body, bioethics

Dr Jeremy Williams
Moral and political philosophy, applied ethics

Professor Alastair Wilson
Metaphysics and philosophy of physics


Honorary Fellows

Dr Gary Cox

Dr Dan O'Brien
Philosophy of mind and language, epistemology

Dr Justin Clarke-Doane
Metaethics, epistemology, metaphysics, philosophy of mathematics

Dr Gideon Makin
Philosophy of language, philosophical logic, history of analytic philosophy

Dr Caroline Mullen
Applied ethics, political philosophy

Dr N. M. L. Nathan
Epistemology, metaphysics, philosophy of religion

Dr Joakim Sandberg
Moral philosophy, business ethics, applied ethics

Dr Mark Walker
Philosophy of mind, Kant, Schopenhauer, Nietzsche, Spinoza