Founders' Awards

The Founders’ Awards are named after some of Birmingham’s most influential figures and demonstrate that their vision of ground-breaking research with local, national and global impact is as alive today as it was when the University was founded in 1900.

These awards recognise the very best academic work in our University. They also provide an opportunity to recognise our outstanding academic colleagues and celebrate their achievements with our most distinguished friends and stakeholders. 

Whilst each award will recognise a different area of expertise, all  recognise work which has contributed to the advancement of the University’s reputation both nationally and internationally. The categories and award titles were reviewed in 2022 to be more representative and better reflect the breadth of UoB activity.

The Founders' Awards 2024 are now open for nominations

Nomination Form

Nominations close Friday 15 March 2024

Award Categories

The Joseph Chamberlain Award for Educational Advancement

This award recognises the work of an outstanding academic whose contribution to the education of our students has had a major impact on student outcomes and experience at undergraduate or postgraduate level.

The Rose Sidgwick Award for External Engagement and Impact

This award recognises academic activity that has created meaningful change at a civic, national or international level through demonstrably delivering societal benefits whether economic, social, environmental or cultural. 

The Florence Price Award for Outstanding Early-Career Academic

This award recognises the work of an outstanding early-career academic whose research has international significance and is breaking new boundaries, placing their research, and the University, at the global forefront of their discipline. 

The Josiah Mason Award for Academic Advancement

This award recognises academic activity that has significantly advanced the discourse or understanding within a specific academic area. The work should have national or international significance.

Find out about the 2023 nominees and winners.