The Universities of Birmingham, Bristol, Exeter, King’s College London, Leicester, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Southampton and Warwick are launching a Mutual Recognition Scheme. 

Under the new scheme, the widening access activities that a student has undertaken with one university will now be taken into account should they choose to apply to one of the other universities in the scheme. This initiative will widen the opportunities available to students who might otherwise be more likely to study in their home locality and/or less likely to apply to research-intensive institutions such as those in this scheme.

The scheme is a collaborative partnership between eleven research-intensive institutions and means that young people who have experienced educational and social disadvantage can demonstrate their commitment and potential for Higher Education study.

Gail Rothnie, Head of Outreach at the University of Birmingham, said, ‘All the Universities in the partnership are keen to identify able students with potential, but who require additional motivation and support, both to apply to Higher Education, and make a successful transition.

‘Through this scheme a young person can choose to have details of the activities they have undertaken with one institution shared with the other partner institutions. This will enable a more holistic view of the student’s application to be made.’

The partnership will also enable the participating Universities to share best practice around this area of admissions and assist the development of new and extended opportunities for those young people who need help and support to study at University level.

Anyone applying for admission to University for 2010 under a Widening Access scheme at one of the eleven Universities will be eligible and can contact any of the universities in the partnership. 


For further information

Kate Chapple, Press Officer, University of Birmingham, tel 0121 414 2772 or 07789 921164.