I am delighted to announce that Professor Yvonne Elsworth has been awarded the Institute of Physics 2011 Payne-Gaposchkin Medal and Prize. This is a fantastic achievement (hot on the heels of Professor Martin Freer's award last year) and the School send Yvonne our warmest congratulations for this well-deserved award.

Further details and citation may be seen on the IoP website.

Andy Schofield
Professor of Theoretical Physics
Head of School, Physics and Astronomy