Alongside the hundreds of students from the School who got their degrees, three members of the School received special awards.

Pranay Shah

Dr Nick Loman, one of our career development fellows, won the Aston Webb Outstanding Early Career Academic award for his leadership and achievements in the area of bacterial pathogenomics.

Ms Alexandra Matthews, one of our graduating Biochemistry MSci students, won the 2014 Vice-Chancellor’s prize, whilst Mr Pranay Shah, another of our Biochemistry MSci students - pictured right with University of Birmingham Chancellor Lord Bilimoria - was named the Indian Student Of The Year. Pranay's award is especially significant as our Chancellor is from an Indian background, and the presentation was made at the Chancellor's induction ceremony.