Two College of Medical and Dental Sciences staff members have received University Founders’ Awards for Excellence at this year’s event.

Professor Laura Piddock is this year’s recipient of the ‘Founders’ Award for Policy Advancement’, whilst Professor Jon Deeks received the ‘Founders’ Award for Academic Advancement’.  

Laura Piddock’s award acknowledges the outstanding contribution she has made in highlighting antibiotic resistance and influencing both UK and international governments to take action.  As you may be aware, Laura also recently co-fronted the campaign for antibiotic resistance which went on to win the £10 million Longitude Award. 

Jon Deeks’ award is as a result of his leadership in the development of the science, implementation and coordination of an international collaboration to identify, appraise, summarise and publish the existing scientific evidence on the accuracy of diagnostic tests.

I would also like to congratulate others from across the College who made the 12-person shortlist for the awards under various categories, including:

  • Dr Mark Cobbold from the School of Immunity and Infection, who was nominated in the ‘Business Advancement’ category
  • Professor Greg Lip from the School of Clinical and Experimental Medicine, who was nominated in the ‘Policy Advancement’ category
  • Mr Andrew Beggs from the School of Cancer Sciences, who was nominated in the ‘Early Career Academic’ category

Nominees for Founders’ Awards are made each year by every School across campus. Now in their fifth year, the awards recognise the very best academic work from across the University’s broad spectrum which has significantly contributed to the advancement of the University’s reputation both nationally and internationally. The awards were presented at a gala dinner hosted by the Vice Chancellor on Thursday 17 July, where 12 finalists competed across four categories.

These awards are a further reflection of the excellent work being carried out by colleagues across the College and I am sure you will all join me in congratulating all of those involved.