The 2017 Marjory Stephenson Prize Lecture has been awarded to Professor Steve Busby. The award, given for exceptional research contributions, is sponsored by the Microbiology Society, and honours the Society's 2nd President (following Alexander Fleming).

Professor Steve Busby

Steve said of his award, "I am very grateful to the Microbiology Society for this award, and am greatly looking forward to contributing to the lecture series."

Read more about the prize here

Previous UoB winners of this award include Laura Piddock in 2014 and Alan Rickinson in 2008

Steve has also recently been elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology.