Skip to main content

We are proud and delighted to recognise the accomplishments of this year's CEPLER and Law School Award winners.

Award being received

The Birmingham Law School graduation receptions on 15 and 18 July represented a double celebration for the many recipients of these coveted prizes - some of which were awarded for exceptional academic performance and others for outstanding achievement in extra-curricular activities.

Here is a list of this year's worthy winners:

The CEPLER Awards presentation, now in its fifth year, honours those students who have embraced the broad range of opportunities to develop their skills and experience and serve the local community.

  • Outstanding Contribution to Advocacy, kindly sponsored by No5 Chambers: awarded to Poppy Elizabeth Watson for her commitment to supporting and competing in debating, negotiation and mooting events.
  • Outstanding Contribution to Pro Bono, kindly sponsored by Mills & Reeve LLP: this award was given jointly to Jennifer Chu and Benjamin Phillips for their dedication to duty in their roles as Free Legal Advice Group coordinators.
  • Highest Achievement in Careers, kindly sponsored by Freeths: awarded to Eloise Marriott for enthusiastic pursuit of careers knowledge and skills.
  • Highest Achievement in CEPLER Careers Development: given to the student who reached an unparalleled CPD score, this year's winner was Priyanka Tura.
  • Head of School Award, kindly sponsored by Professor Lisa Webley: given to the student who demonstrates commitment, responsibility and a thirst for experience, this year the prize was awarded to Nisha Telesford.
  • CEPLER Award for Outstanding Achievement in Extra-Curricular Endeavour, kindly sponsored by Shakespeare Martineau: CEPLER's highest accolade was awarded to Shusmita Deb, pictured receiving her award from Professor Lisa Webley, Head of School. Shusmita has accomplished an extraordinary amount during each year of her degree, making the most of every opportunity and demonstrating exemplary discipline and dedication.
Award winners and staff
  • Highest Achievement in the Advocacy Module, kindly sponsored by Cornwall Street Barristers: awarded to Holly Sims
  • Highest Achievement in the Regulation of the Legal Profession Module: awarded jointly to Ginny Dearn and Nikita Pandit
  • Highest Achievement in the Employment Law Module: awarded to Andre Tan Jieyi
  • Highest Achievement in the Real Estate Module, kindly sponsored by Pinsent Mason: awarded jointly to Luke Griffin and Gurjant Buttar
  • Charles McDowell Award for the Highest Mark in Equity and Trusts: awarded to Justine Reyes
  • JF Gregg Memorial Prize for Final Year Exceptional Performance: awarded to Michael Fanning
  • Gordon Woodman Memorial Award for Highest Classification in LLB International Law and Globalisation: awarded jointly to Gemma Adams and Lauren Gallaher
  • Aitchison Memorial Prize for degree, character, leadership, zeal and width in all University activity: awarded to Shusmita Deb
  • Beinhart Memorial Prize for the Highest Mark in Human Rights: awarded to Joey Wong Mei Lin
  • Petit Bursary for Outstanding Performance as a Holdsworth Chair: awarded to Harriet Smith
  • Lady Barber Prize for Mooting: awarded to Hannah Cotton
  • Sir Henry Barber Prize for the Top Five Highest Degree Classifications: awarded to: Michael Fanning; Andre Tan Jieyi; Joey Wong Mei Lin; Nathaniel Tan Koon Seng; and Eloise Marriott
  • Equality and Diversity Award: awarded to Oluwaronke Oladele and Mariam Yakubu
Staff attend the awards