Logo for the Midlands Graduate School Doctoral Training Partnership

The Department of History is inviting applications for studentships as part of the AHRC-funded Midlands4Cities (M4C) and the ESRC-funded Midlands Graduate School (MGS) Doctoral Training Partnerships (DTPs).

Both partnerships are offering postgraduate research studentships to campus-based UK/EU applicants across each DTP's partner institutions. Each studentship includes full research fees, a substantial maintenance grant and additional research training support.

M4C brings together eight leading universities across the Midlands to support the professional and personal development of the next generation of arts and humanities doctoral researchers.

M4C is a collaboration between the University of Birmingham, Birmingham City University, University of Warwick, Coventry University, University of Leicester, De Montfort University, Nottingham Trent University and The University of Nottingham.

Meanwhile, MGS is an accredited ESRC DTP and is one of 14 such partnerships in the UK. It is a collaboration between the University of Warwick, Aston University, University of Birmingham, University of Leicester, Loughborough University and the University of Nottingham.

The Department of History has an excellent track record of supporting applications for these studentships. Interested students are encouraged to make contact as soon as possible with their prospective supervisor(s) who will be able to provide support with drafting applications.

Please visit the College of Arts and Law funding and scholarships page for more information on both DTPs including, eligibility criteria, how to apply and deadlines. 

Further information can also be found on the M4C  and MGS websites.