This week the Birmingham Centre for Energy Storage announced that applications are now open for the Multi-scale Analysis for Facilities for Energy Storage (MANIFEST) 2020 Research Exchange Programme.

This is the second cohort of the Research Exchange Programme, with the first taking place in 2019. The programme offers funding to eligible post-doctoral researchers to visit partner institutions and build on research undertaken as part of the MANIFEST project. This research includes, but is not limited to, communications latencies, hardware in the loop, grid services and common problems facing energy storage technologies.

Up to £1,200 will be available for each successful applicant to cover accommodation, travel and subsistence at the host institution for a minimum of two weeks. The costs of the research are not eligible. MANIFEST hope to offer up to five awards for the second cohort, with a limit of one award per institution.

  • Be employed by an institution* participating in the MANIFEST project;
  • Be working in an area covered by the MANIFEST project;
  • Have full consent for the exchange obtained from employer (including supervisor);
  • Have formal agreement from host institution (including nominated supervisor);
  • End your exchange by 31/07/2020; and
  • Complete a final report detailing the outcomes and impact (format TBC).
  • Quality of the proposed research;
  • Fit to the MANIFEST research programme;
  • Proposed benefits to the candidate; and
  • Prospects of sustained collaborations as a result of the exchange.

Candidates should email Omar Saeed for an application form. Once completed, candidates should email the form, along with their current CV and evidence of employer and host consent to Omar Saeed by 31/03/2020. If you have any queries about the application process, please contact Omar Saeed. Announcements will be made 06/04/2020.

*Loughborough University, Newcastle University, University College London, University of Birmingham, University of Cambridge, Imperial College London, University of Liverpool, University of Manchester, University of Nottingham, University of Oxford, University of Sheffield, University of Southampton and University of Warwick and STFC.