The Artistic directors with Professor Michael Dobson of the Shakespeare Institute

The Shakespeare Institute gained two new Senior Honorary Research Fellows on 1 February 2024, when Daniel Evans and Tamara Harvey, the new Joint Artistic Directors of the Royal Shakespeare Company, spoke to a capacity audience of research students and faculty about their plans for the company and their aspirations for its continuing collaboration with the university.  

The Artistic Directors talking to a packed hall

They join a galaxy of RSC practitioners who have worked with the Institute since the company's foundation in 1960-1 – among them Dame Judi Dench, Dame Harriet Walter, Sir Simon Russell Beale, Sir Kenneth Branagh and Sir Gregory Doran – and we are delighted that the partnership between theatrical and academic expertise in Shakespeare which the Institute has always fostered will continue under their leadership of the company.