CMR1900: the team

The CMR1900 project is global in reach, and is coordinated from the University of Birmingham.


Team Leaders

Birmingham project office team

Professor David ThomasProf-David-Thomas

Director, CMR1900 project

David Thomas is Emeritus Professor of Christianity and Islam at the University of Birmingham.



Dr John ChesworthJohn-Chesworth

Research Officer, CMR1900 project

John Chesworth is member of Department of Theology and Religion, University of Birmingham, Associate Fellow, Centre for Muslim-Christian Studies, Oxford, and Honorary Research Fellow at St. Stephen's House, Oxford. 


Past team members

We are grateful for the past involvement of:

  • John Azumah - Team Leader for AFAM, 16th century
  • Sharon Carr-Wu - Project Assistant
  • Karoline Cooke – Section Editor for South America, 18th century
  • Sinead Cussen, Project Assistant
  • Dr Emma Gaze Loghin, Research Associate, CMR1900 Project
  • John-Paul Ghobrial - Section Editor for France, 16th century
  • Abdulkadir Hashim - Section Editor for Eastern Africa, 16th century
  • Şevket Küçükhüseyin - Section Editor for Germany, 16th century
  • Andrew Newman - Team Leader for MENA, Section Editor for Persia, 16th century
  • Radu Păun – Section Editor for South-East Europe
  • Mehdi Sajid – Section Editor for Germany, 17th and 18th centuries
  • Karel Steenbrink†– Section Editor for Netherlands 17th to 19th centuries
  • Davide Tacchini - Section Editor for Italy, 16th and 17th century
  • Ann Thomson – Section Editor for France, 17th and 18th centuries
  • Moussa Serge Traore - Section Editor for South America, 16th and 17th century