Staff in Theology and Religion

Professors, Readers, Senior Lecturers and Lecturers

Professor Wolfgang Vondey 
Head of Department
Professor of Christian Theology and Pentecostal Studies

Professor Nicholas Adams
Professor of Philosophical Theology

Dr Daniela C Augustine
Reader in World Christianity and Pentecostal Studies

Dr Ali-Reza Bhojani
Teaching Fellow in Islamic Ethics and Theology

Dr Katherine E Brown
Reader in Religion and Global Security 

Professor Jocelyne Cesari
Professor of Religion and Politics 

Professor David Cheetham  
Professor of Philosophical Theology

Professor Andrew Davies  
Professor of Public Religion

Dr Amy Daughton 
Associate Professor in Practical Theology

Dr Marie-Hélène Gorisse
Dharmanath Assistant Professor in Jain Studies

Professor Charlotte Hempel
Head of School of Philosophy, Theology and Religion
Professor of Hebrew Bible and Second Temple Judaism

Professor Hugh Houghton
Professor of New Testament Textual Scholarship 

Dr Jagbir Jhutti-Johal 
Professor of Sikh Studies

Dr Jeremy Kidwell
Senior Lecturer in Theological Ethics

Dr U-Wen Low
Assistant Professor of Public Religion

Professor Candida Moss
Edward Cadbury Professor of Theology 

Dr Carissa Sharp
Assistant Professor in Psychology of Religion

Dr Richard Todd 
Lecturer in Islamic Studies

Dr Sophia Vasalou
Birmingham Fellow in Philosophical Theology 

Professor Wolfgang Vondey 
Professor of Christian Theology and Pentecostal Studies

Dr Karen Wenell
Senior Lecturer in New Testament and Theology

Dr Isabel Wollaston 
Associate Professor in Jewish and Holocaust Studies

Research and Teaching Fellows

Dr Josef Boehle 
Research Fellow in Globalisation, Religion and Politics

Dr Saleema F. Burney
Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Dr Amy Myshrall
Research Fellow, Institute for Textual Scholarship and Electronic Editing

Dr Oliver Norris
Research Fellow, Institute for Textual Scholarship and Electronic Editing

Dr Rachael Shillitoe
Research Associate

Dr Shoko Watanabe
Research Fellow, "New Perspectives on Social Psychology and Religious Cognition for Theology: Training and Developing Science-Engaged Theologians"

Associate, Emeritus and Honorary Staff

Professor Allan Anderson
Professor of Mission and Pentecostal Studies

Dr Ann Conway-Jones
Honorary Research Fellow

Professor Ben Pink Dandelion
Honorary Professor of Quaker Studies

Professor Francis Davis
Professor of Religion, Communities and Public Policy

Dr Marius Felderhof
Honorary Senior Research Fellow

Dr Rhiannon Grant 
Honorary Lecturer in Modern Quaker Thought

Dr Deryn Guest
Honorary Senior Lecturer

Dr Elizabeth Harris
Honorary Senior Research Fellow

Dr Haifaa Jawad 
Honorary Senior Lecturer

Professor Jorgen Nielsen 
Emeritus Professor of Contemporary European Islam

Professor David Parker FBA 
Emeritus Professor of Digital Philology 

Professor Stephen Pattison
Emeritus Professor of Religion, Ethics and Practice

Dr Tanya Riches
Honorary Research Fellow

H.E. Bhai Sahib Bhai Mohinder Singh
Honorary Professor in Global Faith Leadership

Professor R. S. Sugirtharajah
Emeritus Professor of Biblical Hermeneutics

Dr Sharada Sugirtharajah 
Honorary Senior Research Fellow

Professor David Thomas FBA
Emeritus Professor of Christianity and Islam

Professor Werner Ustorf
Emeritus Professor of Mission

Professor Frances Young FBA
Emerita Edward Cadbury Professor of Theology