HEFi Awards 2020

Vice Chancellor David Eastwood welcomes staff to the HEFi Awards on 12th February 2020


The HEFi Awards Dinner took place on 12th February, and brought together colleagues from across the University of Birmingham for an evening celebrating a range of outstanding teaching achievements over the last 12 months. These included successful completion of the PGCHE, achieving HEA Fellowships through the Beacon scheme, and peer nominations for teaching excellence, innovation, leadership, and student support. It was an enjoyable and inspirational evening, and a wonderful demonstration of commitment to teaching and supporting student learning.

For the first time the winners of the HEFi Teaching and Learning Awards were announced on the night and the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Sir David Eastwood, congratulated the runners-up and presented the awards to the winners in each category. Watch the Vice-Chancellor’s opening speech and find out who the winners were in this round-up.

HEFi Awards outcomes

Educational Leadership Award

Winner - David Leppinen, School of Mathematics

Runner up - Patricia Hibberd, Institute of Clinical Sciences

 Educational Leadership winner 2020

Outstanding Support for Student Education Award

Winner - Careers in Business Team, Birmingham Business School

Runners up - Advanced Clinical Practice Team, School of Nursing


 Team with HEFi Award

Teaching Innovation Award

Winner - SWiFT Team, School of Engineering

Runner up - Sophie Cox, School of Chemical Engineering

 Teaching Innovation winners 2020

Inclusive Education Award

Winner - Natasa Mavronicola, Ben Atkins & Ben Warwick, Birmingham Law School

Runners up - Student Experience Team, College of Arts & Law

Laura Jenkins, School of Government

Naomi Green, School of Engineering

 Inclusive Education winners 2020 1

HEFi Teacher of the Year Award

Winner - Ronnie Meechan-Rogers, Institute of Clinical Sciences

 Teacher of the Year winner 2020