Honorary Degrees Committee

The Honorary Degrees Committee receives nominations for Honorary Degrees and the Vice-Chancellor's Medal and makes confidential recommendations to Senate regarding the award of such distinctions.

Read more information about how to make a nomination for an honorary degree.



Term of Office
(to 31 July -
unless otherwise stated)

Vice Chancellor and Principal (Chair)

Professor Adam Tickell

Ex officio

Provost and Vice-Principal (Deputy Chair)

Professor Tim Jones

Ex officio

Registrar and Secretary

Mr Lee Sanders

Ex officio

 Pro-Vice-Chancellor International

Professor Robin Mason 

Ex officio 

Director of External Relations

Ms Cathy Gilbert

Ex officio

Director of Development and Alumni Relations

Mr Gavin Maggs

Ex officio 

Two Heads of College

Professor Andrzej Gasiorek

Professor Laura Green



Four members elected by the Senate

Professor Elaine Fulton



Professor Costas Constantinou



Professor John Curnow



Professor Paul Jackson


One Lay Member of Council

Mr Mervyn Walker


Two Public Orator

Professor Catherine Needham

Professor Kate Thomas



President of the Guild of Students



Mr Mikey Brown


Terms of Reference

The Committee:

  • considers nominations for Honorary Degrees from students, alumni, employees, honorary staff or lay members of Council of the University and makes confidential recommendations regarding the award of such distinctions;
  • receives notification of the award of the Vice-Chancellor’s Medal.

Dates of Meetings 

The 2021/22 meeting dates are:

15th February 2022

The 2022/23 meeting dates are:

4th October 2022

14th February 2023


Contact Details

Colette McDonough
Assistant Secretary
E-mail: C.McDonough@bham.ac.uk