University Executive Board (UEB)

The University Executive Board (UEB) is a committee of the Council established by Ordinance (our internal legislation) that normally meets weekly during term times to steer the implementation of University strategy and policies.


Professor Sir David EastwoodVice-Chancellor and Principal
Professor Adam Tickell

Professor Stephen JarvisProvost and Vice-Principal
Professor Stephen Jarvis

Professor Deborah LongworthPro-Vice-Chancellor (Education)
Professor Deborah Longworth

Professor Rachel O'ReillyPro-Vice-Chancellor (Research and Knowledge Transfer)
Professor Rachel O'Reilly

Professor Robin MasonPro-Vice-Chancellor (International)
Professor Robin Mason

Professor Helen AbbottPro-Vice-Chancellor and Head of College
Professor Helen Abbott
College of Arts and Law

Professor Marika TaylorPro-Vice-Chancellor and Head of College
Professor Marika Taylor
College of Engineering and Physical Sciences

Professor William BlossPro-Vice-Chancellor and Head of College
Professor William Bloss
College of Life and Environmental Sciences

Professor Neil HanleyPro-Vice-Chancellor and Head of College
Professor Neil Hanley
College of Medical and Dental Sciences

Professor Nick Vaughan-WilliamsPro-Vice-Chancellor and Head of College
Professor Nick Vaughan-Williams
College of Social Sciences

Lee SandersRegistrar and Secretary and Chief Operating Officer
Mr Lee Sanders

Erica Conway, Director of FinanceChief Financial Officer
Ms Erica Conway

Terms of Reference

The University Executive Board (UEB) shall:

  1. consider and take decisions in respect of any aspect of the University's strategy, operation or management (including for the avoidance of doubt, matters of academic implication and allocation of financial, physical and human resources) within the authority delegated by Council and specified in terms of reference approved by the Council from time to time;
  2. make recommendations to the Vice Chancellor, the Council, the Senate or any other body within the University on any matters not within the Board's authority to determine;
  3. monitor the Colleges' individual and collective implementation of University strategies and policies and direct the College Boards as necessary.

Contact details

Mrs Colette McDonough
Head of Governance
Telephone: +44 (0)121 414 6373