Members of the Department of Teacher Education

 

Head of Department

Dr Christopher (Kit) Field

Dr Christopher (Kit) Field

Director of Education
Head of the Department of Teacher Education

Kit Field has been the Director of Education in the School of Education since August 2014.  Immediately prior to this Kit was seconded from his post as the Head of the Centre for Academic Practice at the University of Wolverhampton to the role of interim Executive Headteacher at a large secondary Academy in the Black Country.  He has been, the Dean of the School of ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 3589

Email c.d.field.1@bham.ac.uk

Deputy Head - Teaching

Dr Christine Szwed

Dr Christine Szwed

Director of Primary Education
Deputy Head of the Department of Teacher Education

Chris joined the University  as a lecturer in Primary education and has since held the positions of  Director of Studies for ITE and Head of Primary ITE. Her research interests cover the area of special needs and management alongside the area of initial teacher training. She was part of the School of Education team responsible for the DfES Transforming the School Workforce Pathfinder ...

Telephone +44 (0) 121 415 8220

Email c.a.szwed@bham.ac.uk

Deputy Head - Research

Dr Ian Davison

Dr Ian Davison

Lecturer

School of Education

Ian completed his PhD in psychology in 1987; then taught in secondary schools in various roles including ICT co-ordinator, head of science and senior teacher. He is currently a Lecturer and leads the Education for Health Professionalsprogramme. In addition he teaches quantitative methods including factor analysis and provides a statistical advice service for the ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4808

Email i.w.davison@bham.ac.uk

Dr John Kirkman

Dr John Kirkman

Lecturer in Science Education

School of Education

John taught Science and Physics in secondary schools for fourteen years, including a role as Head of Science.  For three years, he worked part time at the University of Warwick on the Science PGCE course and part-time in school.  He joined the University of Birmingham in 2007 as Lecturer in Science Education with a focus on Physics initial teacher education.

Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 4833

Email j.r.kirkman@bham.ac.uk

Academics

Simon Asquith

Simon Asquith

Senior Lecturer
Deputy Director of Undergraduate Studies

Simon Asquith is Deputy Director of Undergraduate Studies in the School of Education at the University of Birmingham. He is also national chair of the Association for Partnership in Teacher Education (APTE) and sits on the Executive Committee of the Universities’ Council for the Education of Teachers (UCET).

Simon has taught in the school sector in Leeds, ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 7607

Email s.asquith@bham.ac.uk

Angela Bowes

Lecturer

Angela is a German and French specialist having completed her Teacher Training at Birmingham University. She has held a number of teaching posts in Worcestershire and as well as co-teaching on the MFL PGDipEd, she is an ExcellentTeacher/AST two days a week at Kingsley College in Worcestershire. Her area of expertise is the development of Teaching and Learning. Angela has also carried out ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4404

Email a.bowes@bham.ac.uk

Dr Josephine Brady

Lecturer in Primary ITE

Telephone +44 (0)121 415 8226

Email j.a.brady@bham.ac.uk

Alison Broad

Alison Broad

Programme Lead

Alison is the programme lead on the PG Dip Ed Primary/ Early Years ITE course and is responsible for the day to day running of the university and school based training programe. She also heads up the science and computing modules on the programme.

Alison joined the School of Education in January 2010.   She has a very strong background in early ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 415 8191

Email a.broad@bham.ac.uk

Linda Caswell

Linda Caswell

Teaching Fellow in Mathematics

Linda Caswell has taught mathematics for many years in the West Midlands area. She was Head of Mathematics for 15 years in three different schools and so has firsthand knowledge and experience of the changes to both mathematics teaching and Initial Teacher Education. Linda first worked in the School of Education in 2008 and has taught on the PGDipEd (QTS) course on a part time basis before moving ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4814

Email l.r.caswell@bham.ac.uk

Frances Child

Frances Child

Vice Principal, University of Birmingham School
Director of School-Led Initial Teacher Education

Frances is a secondary school teacher and leader with extensive experience in Initial Teacher Education. She has been appointed as Vice Principal of the University of Birmingham School – the country’s first secondary University Training School (UTS) which will open in September 2015. The School aims to transform lives by creating a learning community that will maximise the ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4849

Email f.child@bham.ac.uk

Dr Joanne Cliffe

Programme Leader PGDipEd (QTS) Secondary Physical Education

Joanne Cliffe is Programme Leader for the Post Graduate Diploma in Physical Education (QTS) for Secondary Education and Co-Leader for the MEd in teaching studies. Joanne’s previous experience in higher education included contributions to the PGCE Physical Education course at Loughborough University. Her background is in teaching in secondary education and her posts have included, Head of ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4805

Email j.e.cliffe@bham.ac.uk

Gemma Collins

Lecturer in Geography Education

Gemma has held a number of teaching posts in Birmingham schools since 2003, and before entering higher education held the post of Head of Department in a local secondary comprehensive school. She is a member of the Geographical Association and the RGS-IBG, and has also worked with the Prince’s Teaching Institute on their Schools Programme for Geography, in conjunction with the ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4810

Email g.r.collins@bham.ac.uk

Professor Peter Davies

Professor Peter Davies

Professor of Education Policy Research

Peter leads the Centre for Higher Education Equity and Access. He is also programme lead for the Masters in School Improvement and Educational Leadership programme.

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4820

Email p.davies.1@bham.ac.uk

Martine Delbauve

Martine Delbauve

Lecturer in Education

Martine is a Modern Languages specialist (French/Spanish) and has taught in schools and colleges, and in adult and higher education in England. After working as Course Leader for Modern Languages at a sixth form college she developed a portfolio of work by combining teaching, initial teacher training and consultancy work. She has also worked as educational adviser with a ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 8565

Email m.a.delbauve@bham.ac.uk

David Foster

David Foster

Lecturer in Primary and Early Years Mathematics Education

David Foster joined the School Of Education in September 2014. He teaches Mathematics Education on the PGDip in Primary Education (PGCE Advanced) Primary and Early Years Course. Prior to this he worked for two years at BCU and seven years at Newman University as a Senior Lecturer in Mathematics and Mathematics Education. David has worked as a class teacher and Mathematics Coordinator ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4456

Email d.n.foster@bham.ac.uk

Dr Celia Greenway

Dr Celia Greenway

Senior lecturer
Head of Quality Assurance and Enhancement

Celia Greenway is the PGDipEd Early Years Co-ordinator and Partnership lead. Initially as a practitioner Celia taught in schools and nurseries across Worcestershire. Prior to joining the University, she was responsible for developing Higher Education provision within the Further Education Sector, and worked in collaboration with the University of Worcester establishing Foundation degrees for ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 415 8218

Email c.a.greenway@bham.ac.uk

Dr Sarah Hall

Dr Sarah Hall

Lecturer in Religious Education

Sarah worked in a large Manchester school as Head of department for eight years teaching KS3 and KS4 Religious Studies and Citizenship and KS5 Philosophy, Ethics, New Testament and Hebrew Bible. She is passionate about delivering creative, innovative and inspirational Religious Education which has at its core a promotion of pupil based reflective enquiry. She was the Secondary RE ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4815

Email s.hall.3@bham.ac.uk

Sally Hobday

Lecturer in Secondary English Education

Sally took up the position of lecturer on the University of Birmingham PGDipEd secondary English course in 2013. Her previous career was in teaching in comprehensive schools beginning in 1990. Sally has worked as Head of Department , Head of Year and both as Subject and Professional ITE Mentor in schools in South Birmingham and North Solihull.

Email s.hobday@bham.ac.uk

Zellah Jones

Lecturer in Secondary Biology and Professional Education Development

Telephone Tel:+44 (0)121 414 4404

Email z.p.jones@bham.ac.uk

Russell Manning

Russell Manning

Lecturer in History in Education, Director of secondary ITE

After gaining his PGCE in 1994 Russell Manning worked as a Teacher of History at the Earls High School in Halesowen.  He worked at this school for ten years and held the following posts; Deputy Head of Year, Second in Humanities and Head of History.  During this time he also co-ran the annual Summer Literacy School and worked as the History Mentor in the school for the ...

Telephone 44 (0) 121 415 8443

Email r.manning@bham.ac.uk

Mary O'Connor

Mary O'Connor

Lecturer in Secondary Mathematics

Mary joined the School of Education as a Lecturer in Mathematics Education in September 2012. Mary has taught Mathematics for many years in local schools in Birmingham, Solihull, and Worcestershire. She also has experience of teaching overseas at a Leading International School in the Middle East. She has 15 years’ experience as a Head of Department in 3 different secondary schools ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 44864

Email m.c.oconnor@bham.ac.uk

Ian Ollerenshaw

Lecturer in Secondary Humanities

Email i.s.ollerenshaw@bham.ac.uk

John Ryan

John Ryan

Lecturer in Primary Education and Early Years

John Ryan joined the School Of Education in September 2012. He teaches Professional studies on the PGDip in Primary Education (PGCE Advanced) Primary and Early Years Course. Prior to this he worked for six years at Newman University as a Senior Lecturer in Professional Studies. John has worked in many Primary schools in Birmingham and he was a senior member of staff in all the schools he ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4806

Email j.v.ryan@bham.ac.uk

Dr Tracy Whatmore

Senior Lecturer in Primary and Early Years Education

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4818

Email t.whatmore@bham.ac.uk

Dr Sandy Wilkinson

Lecturer in Science Education (Chemistry)

Sandy has taught Science and Chemistry to A-level in secondary schools for 14 years. This included a secondment to the Royal Society of Chemistry as a School Teacher Fellow as part of the ‘Chemistry for Our Future’ project looking at strategies to overcome secondary to higher education transition issues. Prior to his appointment by the University of Birmingham Sandy was a Secondary ...

Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4825

Email s.wilkinson@bham.ac.uk

Dr Kirsty Wilson

Dr Kirsty Wilson

Lecturer (Primary and Early Years Mathematics Education)

Kirsty works part time, and leads the PGDipEd Primary Mathematics Specialist course.  Since joining the university, Kirsty established and taught the General Primary and Early Years mathematics courses.  Prior to this, she was Research Officer on the ESRC funded project ‘Purposeful Algebraic Activity’ at the University of Warwick, where she also contributed to ...

Telephone +44 (0) 121 415 8225

Email k.e.wilson@bham.ac.uk

Associated Staff

Professor Hywel Thomas

Professor Hywel Thomas

Emeritus Professor of Economics of Education

Hywel Thomas is Emeritus Professor of the Economics of Education. His research includes work on: the economics of professional learning, contiuing education in the health sector, resource management in schools and selection processes for specialty medical training. His work on GP education was recognised with an Honorary Fellowship of the Royal College of General Practitioners.

Email h.r.thomas@bham.ac.uk

Support Staff

Yvonne Dwyer - ITE Programme Administrator
Telephone +44 (0)121 414 5335
Email y.r.dwyer@bham.ac.uk

Sharon Giles - ITE Secondary Science Technician
Telephone
: +44 (0)121 414 3968  
Email: S.I.J.Giles@bham.ac.uk

Lynn Goode - Department secretary
Telephone +44 (0)121 415 8196
Emaill.m.goode@bham.ac.uk

Mel Hardy - ITE Secondary Team Leader
Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4860
Email m.hardy@bham.ac.uk

Amerjit Kaur - Programme Administrator
Telephone +44 (0)121 415 8366
Email a.kaur@bham.ac.uk

Anna Llewellyn - Programme Administrator
Telephone +44 (0)121 414 4863
Email a.c.llewellyn@bham.ac.uk

Sarbit Thiarai - Programme Administrator
Telephone +44 (0)121 414 6747
Emails.thiarai@bham.ac.uk

Denise Wilson - ITE Programme Administrator
Telephone +44 (0) 121 414 8167
Email d.m.wilson@bham.ac.uk