Coronavirus update

Important information:
All on-campus visits and events are cancelled or postponed until further notice. Virtual events will be running as normal unless otherwise stated.  For the latest updates visit our coronavirus information page. Please note that some of our on campus events may be replaced by virtual events - please check with the event organiser listed against each event.

Black History Month 2020

Category
Alumni, Arts and Law, Corporate Services, Dubai Campus, Engineering and Physical Sciences, Exhibitions, International, Lectures Talks and Workshops, Life and Environmental Sciences, Medical and Dental Sciences, Performance, Social Sciences, Students
Dates
Thursday 1st (00:00) - Saturday 31st October 2020 (23:59)
21576 BHM THE AFTERMATH – ecard header – ST1
BHM 2020

October is Black History Month and the University will again be celebrating the culture and histories of black communities with a comprehensive programme of events. The theme for this year is 'The Aftermath' and this year's programme is particularly significant, coming in the wake of the Black Lives Matters protests, which have had a profound impact on members of our University community. 

Our programme will this year be fully virtual which will hopefully allow people to still engage with our events. This year we have also launched a blog. You can submit a blog post by emailing bamestaff@contacts.bham.ac.uk

A full programme of events will be listed below. Please check back regularly for new additions. 

 Date/Time Event
Wednesday 7th October 2020
12:00 - 13:00
Talk: Microaggressions
Saturday 10th October 2020
18:30 - 19:30
Documentary Film: From Africa to Britain
Tuesday 13th October 2020
13:30 - 14:30
Thursday 15th October 2020
10:30 - 11:30
Anti-racism Ally Workshop
Wednesday 14th October 2020
12:00 - 13:00
White Allyship Discussion
Thursday 15th October 2020
12:00 - 13:00
Talk: Black excellence: Two Psychiatrists of the 20th century
Friday 16th October 2020
13:00 - 14:30
The Birmingham International Academy Student Discussion on Race
Monday 19th October 2020
13:30 - 14:30
BHM Special: Me in 3 Leadership Series
Tuesday 20th October 2020 
12:00 - 12:45
Talk: The Importance of Blood Donation
Tuesday 20th October 2020 
13:00 - 14:00
Discussion: Decolonising our History - Joseph Chamberlain, Birmingham and the British Empire
Wednesday 21st October 2020 
12:00 - 13:00
Rainbow Network Book Club
Wednesday 21st October 2020 
16:00 - 18:00
Talk: NucSoc host Experiences of Black Professionals in the Nuclear Industry
Thursday 22nd October 2020 
12:00 - 13:00
Talk: Ethnicity and Healthcare
Friday 23rd October 2020 
12:30 - 13:30
Panel Discussion: We are IMSR - Lived Experiences of Black Scientists
Tuesday 27th October 2020 
12:00 - 13:00
Talk: Getting Your Voice Heard in UK Parliament
Tuesday 27th  October2020 
13:00 - 14:00
Research Seminar: The History and Politics of Black Maternal Health in the UK
Tuesday 27th October 2020 
18:30 - 19:30
LES Event: Challenging Microaggressions
Wednesday 28th October 2020 
12:00 - 13:00
Quiz: Black History Month
Thursday 29th October 2020 
12:00 - 13:00
Library Services Book Club
Friday 30th October 2020 
12:00 - 13:00
Virtual Yoga and Meditation
Tuesday 17th November 2020 
12:00 - 13:00
Women's Network Book Club

Culture and collections

Schools, institutes and departments

Services and facilities